from a dad's view

Peeping through the Window

Emptiness, how sad, cold, and soulless.  So many places, once called home, whether in the city, suburbs or country, held so many wonderful families, and now set empty.  How can a place filled with warmth and love, become just another structure once abandoned?  Could this be where the saying “your home is where your heart is” comes from.  What’s even more amazing, is that it doesn’t matter how big or lavish the structure is, it still is just a structure once abandoned.  Our home of 3800 square feet, 1930 original wrought iron stairway and huge wrought iron gates in the hallway, 10″ mahogany crown molding and arched door passages and so much more, wasn’t a home because of the elegance, but because my wife and I, loved and raised our wonderful daughters there.  Planning for early retirement, we now live in a 2400 square foot home, pretty plain Jane in style, with features for our elderly years, and is just as warm, and filled with love as our larger house.  We left a structure 3 years ago, that once was our home, but we brought with us all the memories and the things that matter with us, and leaving it as just another structure.  Just like the sunlight pouring into a window of a house, without a soul to warm upon touching, it’s just another wasted area of space, light, and no longer a home.

This is a preliminary watercolor sketch for an oil or acrylic painting that is already sketched onto canvas, and hopefully will be started on this weekend. Not sure if I want to do a pure Black and white, or more of a warming color such as sepia. Leaning more to the sepia in color right now.  What do you think? Leave me your suggestions on color.

 

21 responses

  1. WOW!! This painting is really cool, Ryan! I love what you said about what makes a house a home. It’s so very true! Even when your daughters aren’t there, you can probably hear them laughing in your heart, throughout the house.

    When we built the house we’re living in now, we went all handicap accessible. Wider doorways, no steps, door handles vs knobs, etc. You wouldn’t know it from looking but it is ready made for our old age. We even left out the carper. It would slow down our wheel chair races too much. 🙂

    April 14, 2011 at 8:47 am

    • That’s funny, most people couldn’t believe that we moved from our other house, but we built new (less maintenance), paid off mortgage, and had the builders put a large walk in shower with a seat in the corner, why, EARLY RETIREMENT! We’re wanting to snow bird to a coast and warm weather, and with the changes, we’ll be able to do this sooner in life. Thanks Beth!

      April 14, 2011 at 8:59 am

      • We have one of those showers, too! 🙂

        No early retirement for me though. I like to work.

        April 14, 2011 at 9:16 am

      • I love staying busy, early riser, late to bed, but I have so many hobbies and travels to do before I’m not able to do them.

        April 14, 2011 at 9:27 am

  2. You have the most wonderful posts to go with each and everyone of your paintings, and this one is no exception. All you say about what makes a home a home is so true. I past my previous home about 2 years ago after being moved out of it for several years. Though I could look at it and still experience memories of living there it was sill just a structure, since all the memories were taken with us.
    The painting is awesome, Ryan! If I had not read your post prior to looking at the painting I would have thought it to be a photo; it is just that wonderful, Ryan! Excellent painting and post!

    April 14, 2011 at 9:09 am

    • Thank you Debbie,
      and thank you on commenting on my writings also, it’s funny, while painting, I have all sorts of thoughts, so when I sit down to post it, the stories or writings come out easy, just not well written. I never pre-write anything, I type as I think, and it goes down just that way. I often wonder if I should stop writing so much, and just post the art, but with-out a writing, although maybe poorly written, I feel the story isn’t complete.

      April 14, 2011 at 9:24 am

      • Oh no Ryan, your stories are wonderful and well written. And you keep these stories going. I know that one day you children and grandchild will be so glad that you have put this blog together to read your thoughts with each art post. Keep on, keeping on Ryan! Besides, I enjoy your stories and would miss them if you cease writing them.

        April 14, 2011 at 10:25 am

      • Thanks Debbie!

        April 14, 2011 at 10:36 am

  3. Sort of reminds me of how so many people are losing their homes here in Ohio.. My mom is afraid if they pass some of the pending legislation, she will be losing her job- she works at a nursing home, and most of the elderly there are on medicaid, which could possibly be not allowed any more… They would go home to families unable to give them proper medical care, and it would put thousands out of work, like my mom… Then, who knows.. we might lose it all.

    Sometimes it’s hard to stay bright in times like these..

    April 14, 2011 at 2:16 pm

  4. This painting is unique and simply stunning! The picture speaks volumes of the simple things in life. I love how the light peeks through the window with the chair casting a shadow. I also want to compliment you on the writing you do along with your paintings. You can tell it is all heartfelt. Awesome job!

    April 14, 2011 at 2:19 pm

  5. I love this idea, Ryan. At first I was going to “vote” for the sepia color, but in thinking about it that may seem too warm. Maybe the black/gray would convey a certain coldness and emptiness?
    Karen

    April 14, 2011 at 3:17 pm

  6. I believe the painting might present better with a warm tone used? if one wishes to pass on a feeling of warmth and it once being a treasured place. That said, Cooler blacker tones would back up the feeling of starkness and loneliness and illustrate just what you have spoken of, above, that a home moves and is not the shell that is left behind. Regardless of what tones you choose, Ryan. This is going to be “crazy good”! I love it!
    I moved to where I live, now, ten years ago. I still pass by my old rental home. It still has the feeling of home for me. I am the same way with vehicles. I don’tknow why that is, but I don’t mind it so much.

    April 15, 2011 at 6:06 am

    • Thank you Leslie,
      I still get a warm feeling when I pass our old home, but I think it’s from the memories and the raising of the girls there more than the structure. If we would have raised them in some other house, I would have that same warm feeling when passing it. Cars on the other hand, mean nothing to me, I can buy and trade without any feeling at all… except for my wrangler, I miss it so! sniffle, sniffle

      April 15, 2011 at 6:13 am

  7. The shadows make this look like a picture, great job man.

    April 15, 2011 at 7:57 am

  8. I vote for sepia and am blown away by the realism you achieve over and over. I am so envious! (and rushed and sloppy and lazy…hmmm is there a moral here?!)

    April 16, 2011 at 4:45 am

  9. You lived in a 3800 sq.ft. house? OMG! I couldn’t imagine what I would do with all that space. Even your downsized 2400 sq.ft. home is still gigantic.

    That being said, let me address this AMAZING painting. It evokes so many feelings, the love and life that used to be in that room and the loneliness that is there now.

    I look forward to seeing your oil or acrylic painting of this and my feeling is to use the sepia to evoke some warmth, and an old time feeling.

    April 16, 2011 at 12:04 pm

  10. Very nice, and I vote sepia, though I really shouldn’t have a vote since I don’t know what I’m talking about when it comes to art…:)
    Speaking of your old house, I should mention for Carol that it had a basement with rooms that reminded me of “Silence of the Lambs”- creeepy! I wasn’t as afraid of it as Rick, though! tee-hee little inside joke there, maybe.

    April 18, 2011 at 9:11 am

    • Still the funniest thing that I have ever seen in my life! LOOOOOOOLLLLLLLLLLLL! Thanks Sis

      April 19, 2011 at 5:23 am

  11. justjillsblog

    I love the idea of an -almost- black and white painting. Sepia seems a bit over done for nostalgic pictures, so I would vote for a sort of lack of saturation in the colors with maybe some parts going all the way black and white while others have very subtle saturation.

    April 19, 2011 at 12:50 pm

    • Thank you and welcome!
      I’m leaning more to the black and white, with a touch of warm tones added. I don’t think that I want a pure black and white, but not all sepia either. Not sure what I’ll do until I start slapping the paint. Thanks and I hope you’ll return as I will to yours.

      April 19, 2011 at 1:16 pm

  12. Ah ! I vote for the sepia toooo !! Aren’t you glad you asked and got all kinds of answers ?? 🙂
    I look at that chair, and I wonder: where did she/he go ?? What is she/he doing now ?? And all kinds of scenarios pop up in my mind.. thanks !

    April 19, 2011 at 6:11 pm

Leave a Reply

