from a dad's view

Windy – watercolor

I’m not sure what is going on around the rest of the world, but I know right here at my house, IT IS WINDY!  It seems like this entire month has been blowing and blowing hard.  We had straight line winds the other day sustaining at 45mph and others in the area were up to 95mph, not gust sustaining winds, it didn’t last long, but long enough to do a lot of damage.  I know that most of the midwest and south, have been going through the same storms and winds, killing so many people.  So, I starting painting last night, and all I had was a photo of purple flowers, but not wanting to do the same old purple flower painting, I decided to try to capture them in a stormy condition.  The scanning isn’t the best, it washed out some of the background, but at least this will give you an idea of my attempt.  I hope all stays safe this stormy season, and please take storms serious.  A F3-F4 (210 mph winds) tornado came through no more than a 1/2 mile from where our new house sets (wasn’t built there yet) in 2005, and killing 25 people including kids.  So, be safe, be smart, and take care!

Watercolor – 5″ x 5″– 140 lb coldpress paper

16 responses

  1. Love your colors and the energy of your painting! It was very windy here in Windy City as well!

    April 21, 2011 at 6:44 am

    • Thank you Alex,
      There were more flowers on the painting… but they blew off the paper, It’s so windy!

      April 22, 2011 at 9:21 am

  2. Wow! How beautiful they are, even in front of a dark backdrop and hanging on for dear life. The speckling and all you did really enhance the feeling of movement!
    Yes. The winds have been strong up here, but not suffered as those of you who have warmer temperatures. You are truly in the middle of tornado alley. Stay safe Ryan.

    April 21, 2011 at 8:55 am

    • Thanks Leslie,
      I keep an eye open during storms, mostly because of my kids. This was fun for me, I know that you try new things all the time, but it’s a challenge for me.

      April 22, 2011 at 9:36 am

  3. Oh WOW!!!!!!! I LOVE this painting, Ryan!!! The spatters and amazing background, combined with the wonderful movement and texture, make this a gorgeous painting!!!! I am blown away!!!! ….literally.

    We are having those winds, too! It’s keeping my wheels on the tarmac, for sure.

    It just started raining here. YAY!!!

    April 21, 2011 at 9:15 am

    • Hang on tight Beth, It’s only going to get worse! A lot of hot air comes from this blog and Oklahoma!

      April 22, 2011 at 9:31 am

  4. Ryan, you’ve outdone yourself again! Beautiful painting!

    April 22, 2011 at 1:10 am

    • Thank you! I just wish that I had schooling, for different technics and knowledge. Maybe in the near future!

      April 22, 2011 at 9:28 am

  5. Oh my!! This is a beautiful painting, Ryan, and I love it!! You are very good at painting wind; not an easy task for myself. But you, you are a master of it!
    Been very windy down here in Cape Hatteras, but no series damage or injuries as in many other areas.

    April 22, 2011 at 4:15 am

    • Wow, a master, I’m liking you more and more everyday Debbie! LOL
      Thank you, and this one was a test for me, I’m trying to get more movement and energy in some of my paintings, with out getting a cartoon look.

      April 22, 2011 at 9:25 am

  6. What colors! What feeling of movement! I can hear the wind! Wonderful piece!

    April 22, 2011 at 6:58 pm

  7. Hi, thank you for the encouragement. These purple flowers (their color and their condition) show the coldness of a windy night.

    April 25, 2011 at 6:03 am

  8. aswirly

    Please tell me that you have a storm shelter under your house or something? Do you? Oh man, the tornadoes and the strong winds you write about are frightening. I absolutely LOVE how you painted these flowers. It is amazing how you actually captured wind. I feel blown about just looking at these wind tossed blooms.

    April 28, 2011 at 3:49 pm

    • Nope, no storm shelter or basement at our new house. The problem with basements around here, is that most are hard to keep the water out because of the low river levels. I spent most of the night last night volunteering shoveling and bagging sand because of all the flood water getting into home and businesses. I had always seen the horror from tornados on t.v., but until a few years ago when a f3 tornado went through here, it’s unreal what power and devistation that is left behind. Take what you see on t.v. and times it by at least 10. We had a 20 acre woods that looked like a giant weed eater came through and cut the trees off like grass, these trees were 70-100’s of feet tall and hard wood, and completely disappeared. We take the storms seriously and head for the center of the house closet, and if it got bad enough, we would go to the crawl space under the house. i pray for all those who have lost family members and friends down south and around here, and I would hope that everyone will take mothernature seriously with all it’s power. Thank you Amber for your kind comment and concern!

      April 28, 2011 at 6:08 pm

  9. Beautiful painting, I really love your background and the way the tulips are bending and flopping from the wind.

    May 9, 2011 at 8:11 am

    • Thanks Carol!
      I know all about bending and flopping in the wind! LOL, LOL, did I say that out loud! Just joking, but thanks for the laugh!

      May 17, 2011 at 6:36 am

Leave a Reply

