from a dad's view

Little House on the Prairie – Sunset watercolor

The Walton’s, Little House on the Prairie, Hee Haw, Hawaii Five-O (old version) and so many other shows that I hated and never wanted to watch, but guess what, I did, I had to.  At my dad’s house, we had one t.v., no remote, and hooked to an antenna that we had to go outside to turn in the direction of one of three channels that we were able to get.  That’s right kids, 3 channels, no remote, and no matter how cold or how much snow, you had to go outside and manually turn the antenna to receive channels.  The only remote that we ever had… was me! My dad would tell me to get up and change the channel, I was my dad’s remote.  I would have to brag that I was a professional channel changer, back then the channel knobs were dials, one dial was UHF and the other dial was VHF. I could spin those dials at high-speed and stop exactly on the right number, you know the feeling, it’s the same feeling you get when pumping gas at full speed, and stopping the pump exactly on the correct amount without slowing down at all, or going over.  But my dad would throw a fit and tell me that I was going to rip the knobs off the t.v.   I wonder how kids could make it today, 3 channels, no remote, no dvd, no color, and no choice or say in what they could watch.   I see a vision of kids leaping out of first story windows in horror!  That and the content of shows back then. The most you could expect (or in my case hope for) in nudity, was Farrah Faucet, bra-less, and that sent the censors screaming.  Now days you pretty well see everything and everyone.  Everything from Snooki on Jersey Shore, 16 and pregnant, and so many other shows, where there are no boundaries on censorship.  Looking back now, maybe those shows weren’t so bad that I had to watch.

I couldn’t live without Discovery, History or the Outdoor channel though!

This is a watercolor and ink graphic, painting mix.  I wished that I had used a bigger paper, but wasn’t sure what I was doing until the end. once again the scan does something funky to the color and the blacks, but hopefully you’ll get the idea.  Thanks!

20 responses

  1. Oooo, this is wonderful and very moody, Ryan! I love all the drama you have created with color!! 🙂

    April 27, 2011 at 7:06 am

  2. Kristin Brænne

    ★★★★★

    April 27, 2011 at 7:30 am

    • I’m sorry, but this is all I received for your comment. Thanks for visiting though!

      April 27, 2011 at 7:37 am

  3. A nice memory,and a beautiful old house!

    April 27, 2011 at 8:16 am

    • Thank you, I guess this is what they call a “little fixer-upper”

      April 28, 2011 at 4:16 am

  4. Gorgeous moody colors! Fantastic!

    April 27, 2011 at 11:56 am

    • Thank you Alex, I was playing around with the colors and style, now I just wished it was a little bigger.

      April 28, 2011 at 4:18 am

  5. Hahaha! I remember those days with only a few channels and not much of anything at all to watch. My mother use to tell me to change the channel for her too. I can hear her now yelling at me. “Deborah!! Don’t spin that tv channel you’re going to break it!” She wanted me to pause a second between flips. Aak!
    I loved your story Ryan, and I love the painting. Excellent work!

    April 27, 2011 at 2:20 pm

    • Thank you Debbie, I’m glad it brought back some memories for you. My dad was the same way, yelling if I went to fast, I would do it on purpose sometimes predicting on what he would say. Thanks!

      April 28, 2011 at 4:44 am

  6. Great painting and great memories – thanks.

    April 27, 2011 at 4:04 pm

  7. This is incredibly captivating, Ryan. Love the drama of the darks with all that yellow light.
    The TV thing? I never wanted for more when we had black and white and three channels. I could only watch one of the channels at a time, anyway. Oh yes….and there was never another TV in our bedrooms, either. One TV for the whole family.

    April 27, 2011 at 4:17 pm

    • Thank you Leslie, We had black and white forever! We couldn’t afford a new t.v., so we were given everybody else’s black and whites. Now we have a t.v. in every room, bathroom, bedrooms, bonus room, family room, kitchen, I guess that I’m making up for all those years of not having but one.

      April 28, 2011 at 5:05 am

  8. Beautiful picture!!

    What kind of pen do you use for the ink?

    April 28, 2011 at 3:03 am

    • Thank you! I used a Mechanical pen or Tech pen, but I also use a brush.

      April 28, 2011 at 5:12 am

  9. You DO have a wonderful looseness to your paintings much like the artist I featured on my blog today, Leo Brooks… this painting specifically I can see some similarities! Wonderful art! Loved your story about the old TV and lack of remote… no kidding, kids nowdays would freak! Well, that AND we walked a mile IN THE SNOW, SLEET and HAIL to school… haha… but it’s true!

    April 28, 2011 at 7:01 am

    • Thank you Barbara and welcome! I try to do a variety of styles, it keeps me from getting bored, and hopefully gives a little fun to my guest. Thank you again, and I hope to see you return in the future.

      April 28, 2011 at 7:13 am

  10. aswirly

    This really is beautiful. I love the richness of the colors… My husband and I have been talking about killing our tv altogether and just using netflix for the shows/movies we want. There just is so little of anything of quality out there! Why are we paying for hundreds of channels of junk? The only thing I’d miss is the Discovery channel…

    April 28, 2011 at 3:52 pm

    • We have a lot of t.v.’s and a projection theater, but we watch very little t.v.. But when we want to watch t.v. we have plenty of optens of viewing. I think the most important with couples and families, is when eating dinner, no t.v. and eating at the table together. So many families grab their food and head to different rooms to eat and watch t.v., to me this is valiuable time for parents, children and spouses the opportunity to share each others time and love. but i have to agree with the Discovery channel… you’re such a nerd! You probably watch Big Bang Theory also… I do!

      April 28, 2011 at 6:14 pm

Leave a Reply

