from a dad's view

Two blooms – Watercolor

Sorry that it had taken a while to post the final painting that I had posted Friday, but this artist was in the woods trying to kill a wild turkey all weekend, in the rain, in the middle of ticksville, and only seeing hens and no gobblers. Sounds like ton of fun doesn’t it!  Well I’m just crazy like that, but could you sit in your living room and have a really cool chipmunk playing just a few feet from you? Could you have seen a coyote crossing the fields in search of probably the same thing that I was looking for? Or a nice whitetail buck, getting up, walking from his bed area, and eating within 10 yards from you. Box turtle, finches, redheaded woodpeckers and so much more, all this in one weekend, in the woods.  Of course your sitting perfectly still, not moving a muscle, so not to be seen by those laser like eyes of the wild turkey, but because your not moving, these other creatures, fly, walk or crawl right up to you, it’s amazing.  Yes, it would have been better if I could have dropped a big gobbler with a 11 inch beard and 1 inch spurs, but just killing a bird and not experiencing the hunt… is just killing a bird, and not hunting.  This is a 8″ x 10″ watercolor on 140 lb coldpress paper.

15 responses

  1. This is gorgeous! I probably shouldn’t tell you about the wild turkeys that tromp around in my backyard all the time. There’s usually 11 of them… walking really slooooooow. 🙂

    May 2, 2011 at 10:19 am

    • I think you need a really good friend to come out there and thin the herd a little! You would have thought that the bigfoot creatures that you have around there would have already eaten them! LOL Thanks Beth!

      May 2, 2011 at 10:29 am

  2. I don’t know much about hunting, but it sounds like you enjoy it very much.
    I love the finished painting, Ryan; it’s beautiful!!

    May 2, 2011 at 12:12 pm

  3. Ryan, this does look different than your norm with the darks upper left. More! You are superb with flowers!!!!!

    May 3, 2011 at 4:39 am

    • Thank you Leslie< I'm trying to change things up every once in a while, but yet to find time to really try new things such as yourself.

      May 8, 2011 at 6:15 pm

  4. What can I say…”great art work” or ” a wonderful piece of art” …I am sure you have heard it all.

    May 4, 2011 at 8:25 am

    • Thank you Alonso! Your all so kind, and coming from such talents, really encourages me to keep painting.

      May 8, 2011 at 6:13 pm

  5. Really wonderful! Your ability to achieve great detail is so impressive. And your paintings still are gentle and not rigid or static. So good…

    May 6, 2011 at 4:12 am

    • Thank you Linda and I hope all is well at your home!

      May 8, 2011 at 6:10 pm

  6. Beautiful painting, Ryan!!! I love the darks up in the corner, the drips and the bottom right section which you left blank. Makes the viewer work and fill in some areas while some of your other areas have gorgeous detail.

    May 9, 2011 at 8:06 am

    • Thank you Carol!
      I wasn’t for sure if I was going to like this one or not, but once matted, I really like it. Thanks again and I hope all is going well for ya!

      May 17, 2011 at 6:37 am

  7. Francis

    Those flowers are gorgeous. They really stands out with the darker background. I hope you have a great time hunting. Have an outstanding week ahead.

    May 15, 2011 at 4:21 pm

    • Thank you Francis, it’s good to hear from you again!

      May 17, 2011 at 6:34 am

  8. Just lovely.

    June 1, 2012 at 5:36 am

    • Thank you and welcome to my blog!
      This was a fun one, sometimes I like just playing around with the paints.

      June 1, 2012 at 5:51 am

Leave a Reply

