from a dad's view

Mermaid of the Sea – Watercolor

Lost among the never-ending swells of blue, waves pounding the sides of our ship, sending its dousing spray of foam and water over the decks edge.  No stars above, no light below, nothing but the crashing waves separating the blackened deaths.  Why did we begin this journey?  Is the greed of man needing more money worth the chance of losing the only thing that money cannot buy, worth it.  Oh God, I pray to you now, grip our ship in your hands and steady us, as we fight through this killing storm.  My friends, getting swept away over the sides likes peas on a tilted plate, and yet there is nothing I can do to save them because it takes every ounce of my strength to hang on for my own life. Dear God! I have prayed, I have begged, why have you not saved us from horror!

CRACK! BAM! All went black, has God struck me down in death for striking unfaithful words at him, movement has left my body, my once strong arms, now lay limp.  Oh God, I’m dead, and my soul left here for eternity, not to be lifted to the heavens above.  But then in a distance, or is it close, a dim light begins to brighten, sounds of my men begin to come alive, my arms are starting to regain some strength. I’m not dead, I yelled! I’m alive! I have cheated the hands of the storm, and God! But my men haven’t been so lucky, I am the only survivor, yet upon wakening, I heard voices of my men speaking of the beauty. Where have they all gone, I know that I wasn’t dreaming, I heard my men speaking of the amazing beauty of the sea, and the sounds of heavenly voices in rejoice.  But yet not a soul is aboard, but mine.  That’s when I heard a sound… a wonderful, heavenly sound of angels coming from the sea, as though it was calling me to the ships edge.  Almost in a trance like walk I couldn’t help but to seek out this heavenly sound.  As I peered into the, now calm seas, dark as black, but yet still blue, images of angels begin to swim below. Are these dolphins, and my head hurting from the blow from the wooden mass striking my head have me seeing things? But that heavenly voice singing to me, as though I am being called to heaven. Where is it coming from?  The graceful dancing figure appears closer to the waters top, it’s more beautiful than I can ever imagine, an angel, an angel from below comes to me in song.  She appears above speaking only through song, her body of a perfect woman on top, yet her legs cannot be seen.  She reaches as though to be pulled onto the ship. Is this a gift from God for me so I’m not alone?  I don’t care where she came from, but I know that I only care I want to be with her for eternity.  I reach down to grab her with my strong-arms to pull her aboard, reaching until our finger tips begin to caress, reaching further to take grasp of her warm, delicate hands.  I can’t wait to pull her aboard! But wait! Her hands become cold, her song becomes evil, and her beauty, Oh, her beauty becomes demonic! I try to release her grip and break free from this evil, but I am powerless against her strength. She drags me over and into the sea, dragging me deeper and deeper into the black, bottoms of the sea. My want, my greed for lust and money, has once again put me in the arms of death, never to see life again. All of my men fall into the same fate, and now their leader, their captain, joins them once again, into the hell of the Sirens!

There you go, I tried to put a little story with my painting this morning. I hope you enjoy both, or at least one or the other! LOL The watercolor is 5″ x 7″ on 140lb coldpress paper, with acrylic pearls.  I tried to make her beautiful and yet a little drop of possible evil. Thanks for visiting!

16 responses

  1. love the tension in this painting! it’s beautiful.

    May 17, 2011 at 6:03 am

    • Thank you Hilary and thanks for visiting! I hope you return

      May 17, 2011 at 6:17 am

  2. This is so gorgeous, Ryan! I love your style!

    May 17, 2011 at 6:20 am

  3. aswirly

    Oh, chilling story, so beautifully written. I can visualize it all… on and this mermaid / siren is amazing. I love how she is looking up like she just heard the crash of the ship and she’s ready to seek her prey. Ooooooh…. Hey, she’s not topless anymore! lol

    May 17, 2011 at 6:46 am

    • She isn’t! I didn’t notice, you know that I’m just that pure! LOL
      But I will have the version on my desktop for reviewing every once in awhile, for artistic reference only! LOL Thanks!

      May 17, 2011 at 6:49 am

  4. Your story is timeless, Ryan. How futilely we grasp for meaning in this dog-eat-dog world. How easy it is to go astray. Your painting is beautiful. I love the tension in her hands and the idea of the pearls looking as though they are lost and floating hopelessly. Profound and beautiful…painting and story!

    May 17, 2011 at 7:10 am

    • Thanks Leslie!
      I write the stories at the same moment of posting the painting, so I never know how they will come out. But once I get started, the story seems to flow out better than my writing skills! As you can tell! LOL
      I’m glad you enjoyed both, and like always, thank you!

      May 17, 2011 at 7:19 am

  5. Danish

    Simply Amazing

    May 18, 2011 at 9:25 am

    • Thank you and welcome to my blog! And I hope you return soon

      May 18, 2011 at 9:30 am

  6. Great finish! I love the scales!

    Your writing is pretty remarkable as well. Made me think of Poe, how you built up emotion and suspense. You mention making a book once, with your own illustrations. Are you still thinking/working on it? I think it could be rather successful.

    May 18, 2011 at 4:48 pm

    • Thank you Alex! Wow what a compliment! I would love to write a book, but because I hate to read (can’t sit still long enough), I’m not sure that I could. Trying to build the characters, set the settings and create a story interesting enough to fill a book, just not sure I could do it. I’m able to do short stories fairly easy. All my stories that go along with my paintings are written at the moment of posting. I never pre-write anything, or give it any thought prior, I just wing it as I go and are written in about an hour or less. But thank you, so, so much for the wonderful compliment, I’m always a little hesitant to even write stories with my paintings, not wanting to look ignorant and uneducated. But I keep trying!

      May 19, 2011 at 9:50 am

  7. Francis

    Wonderful story Ryan, i love the painting, love the motion too, it create sence of underwater experience. Amazing.

    May 19, 2011 at 3:59 pm

    • Thank you Francis!
      I struggle with the underwater effect, but was happy the way this one turned out. Thanks again!

      May 25, 2011 at 5:16 am

  8. Thank you for your lovely comment on my mermaid painting – this rendition of yours is sublime! Aren’t they just the most intriguing and magical things to capture in paint? I look forward to seeing your future work…..!

    May 25, 2011 at 10:19 am

  9. I absolutely love mermaids, and I never see enough of them. I also love the execution.

    June 17, 2011 at 12:54 pm

  10. Wow, what a gorgeous evocative painting. I can’t get over her expression. Wonderful work!

    July 12, 2011 at 10:23 am

Leave a Reply

