from a dad's view

Look what washed up – watercolor

This was a photo emailed to me by Debby. She sent it to me Friday, so that I would have something to paint this weekend (Thank You Debbie). She had mentioned that she had a hard time painting a sand dollar and so I wanted to give it a try, since I had never painted one before. I was busy all weekend with my wife and house chores until last night, but I hope you like the results anyway. I decided to posted the original photo (above), so that you can see my style and mistakes.

Thank you for the other suggestions, and I believe my next painting will be a sci-fi scene next or maybe the Fenway park or maybe both. You’ll just have to wait and see!

20 responses

  1. The painting is really beautiful! It is more attractive than the original photo!

    May 23, 2011 at 5:07 am

    • Thank you Zeinab!
      It was a wonderful reference photo sent to me and a nice challenge.

      May 25, 2011 at 5:15 am

  2. another beauty~ and far better than the original! nice work!

    May 23, 2011 at 5:42 am

  3. WOW !!

    May 23, 2011 at 5:45 am

  4. Ryan, I think you just made my migraine go away! The picture you painted is beyond what I ever thought it would turn out to be. I love your mix of colors and the texture of this picture. It looks like it’s on the edge of the water. WOW…A stunning picture!
    So many times I feel I have to get realistic colors to match the picture and that is far from the case. My teacher is always asking me if I see other colors other than the ones in the pictures and I can never seem to squint enough to see them. I think I have to loosen up a bit to allow more color in order to show the lights and darks.
    I have to agree with everyone…I love your painting better than the picture πŸ˜‰ Awesome job!

    May 23, 2011 at 11:50 am

    • Migraine! I hate Migraines! I used to get them about once a month until I found out that my blood pressure was 176 over 124 (NOT GOOD), ever since I started my blood pressure meds, I haven’t had one. Anyway, thank you for the sweet comment and thank you for sending me the reference picture. I was hoping you wouldn’t be disappointed and it gave me something to do while my wife was recovering over the weekend. Thanks again!

      May 25, 2011 at 5:13 am

      • Thank you for attempting this photo. I feel privileged to have had you paint it! I love helping other artists! Through the years I have had a lot of nice things come my way from others…I like to call it “Paying it forward”! Thank you so much!

        May 25, 2011 at 3:24 pm

  5. Beautifully done! Love the texture of the sand! I have just attempted splatter for texture for the first time in my most recent painting and am very curious about how others are doing this technique. So I examined your sand with great attention – cool selection of colors!

    May 24, 2011 at 4:34 am

    • Thank you Alex!
      Nothing like a stiff tooth brush for the splattered sand! I did cover the shells when splattering to keep them clean.

      May 25, 2011 at 5:08 am

  6. I love the beach so very much! The muted color palette you used here is really nice and you achieved a great sand texture. As someone who struggles to navigate watercolor, I am impressed!

    May 24, 2011 at 7:15 am

    • Thank you Bree!
      Watercolor was a pain to get used to, and I’m still learning so much. My brain kept telling me to use them like acrylics and oils because I had used that media for so long, but you can’t, it’s just so different. I’m starting more acrylics and leaning away from watercolors for a while (after the sci-fy series) and plein airing, just because I think I’m in a rut with subjects. You kick butt at so many talents as an artist!

      May 25, 2011 at 4:57 am

  7. Still life is something I don’t spend nearly enough time with, Ryan. This is descriptive and beautiful. I really like the composition you chose for your painting. The sand dollar is beautiful.

    May 24, 2011 at 9:40 pm

    • Thank you again Leslie,
      And I forgot to answer about ink or watercolor on the Sci-fy painting, It’s all watercolor except for the very edge of the cliffs. I cleaned up the edges to give more contrast, but the cliffs black are all watercolor.

      May 25, 2011 at 4:51 am

  8. aswirly

    I gotta say, your still life is stunning. REALLY stunning, although I’m slightly partial to the sci-fi scene πŸ˜‰

    May 27, 2011 at 8:30 pm

  9. WOWZA!!!! This is really wonderful, Ryan!! Love it!

    June 6, 2011 at 4:54 am

  10. you improved on nature! Your painting is more beautiful than the real thing! I love all the colors you added.

    June 16, 2011 at 8:07 am

    • Thank you Carol!
      It was fun to do and made me miss the beach.

      June 16, 2011 at 8:10 am

  11. Love This. I have seen this so many times living by the shore! You have a great eye for detail and color.

    June 17, 2011 at 12:55 pm

Leave a Reply

