from a dad's view

End of Spring Challenge

First of all I would like to apologize to Linda.  She has a great challenge for ending spring themed “the leaping greenly spirits of trees”, and reminded us several time, but this old brain still forgot about it.  But I had this idea in my head for the challenge, so I wanted to sketch it out quickly this morning and post it.  It should have been a lot more detailed and much more time spent on it, but maybe you can get the idea anyways.  There are so many great paintings posted this morning for the challenge and I’m ashamed of lowering the level of excellence with this fast sketch.  Please visit all the others and leave comments on each one, they are amazing.  Once again, sorry Linda, next time I hope to do better!

12 responses

  1. You really must quit whining, Ryan, because this is wonderful!!! 😀 I love those little dancing roots!!! This would look beautiful, incorporated into a logo.

    June 20, 2011 at 9:00 am

    • But why, why can’t I whine, I wanna whine. Thanks for the butt chewing and the kind comment.

      June 21, 2011 at 9:16 am

  2. It seems that these trees dance in ballet!

    June 20, 2011 at 11:31 am

    • I was hoping to give you that illusion. Thanks Zeinab!

      June 21, 2011 at 9:12 am

  3. Ohhh I love it as is and in it’s unfinished mode. The trees are actually dancing across the paper.

    June 21, 2011 at 4:54 am

    • Thank you Drawingpins for your kind comment, and welcome to my blog. I tried to link them as though holding hands and leaping like children. I hope to see you return!

      June 21, 2011 at 9:11 am

  4. I really think this is cool, Ryan. I think your leaping interpretation is fantastically illustrated, here! Love the touch of shadowed tree trunks in the background. Sketches or detailed finished work? You never disappoint!

    June 21, 2011 at 6:08 am

    • Thank you Leslie,
      I wanted the foreground trees to appear either based on a hill, or leaping through the air, depending on the viewers imagination. Thanks!

      June 21, 2011 at 9:09 am

  5. You were better than me. At least you did a painting. The challenge just slipped by me.

    I love your calligraphic dancing trees with the shadow image in the background. This is just lovely and perfect for the end of Spring.

    June 24, 2011 at 4:01 pm

    • Thank you Carol,
      I tried to make them appear to be leaping and dancing but wasn’t for sure that it turned out.

      June 29, 2011 at 5:14 am

  6. aswirly

    This is so pretty. I just love your style. Sorry I got so behind your blog 😦

    July 3, 2011 at 9:10 pm

    • I enjoy the illustrator side of art every once in a while, I just wished that I hadn’t forgot about the challenge and made this bigger and more detailed. Thanks!

      July 5, 2011 at 4:43 am

Leave a Reply

