from a dad's view

Old John Deere Tractor

Kenny Chesney one of my favorite country singers, released a song with the lyrics “she thinks my tractors sexy”, so I’m throwing this out there and who knows!  I was without my girls and wife last night, so being the wild and crazy guy that I am… I painted! I know, I know, calm yourself down because you can’t even imagine being that wild, but, what can I say.  This old John Deere is so rusty that the John Deere green is almost completely gone, leaving nothing but a hint of the yellow name.  This was fun, and I enjoy painting old rusty things, but what I need help on is the foreground grass and bushes. I’m just not happy with the textures and hoping some of you experts can help me out.  Do you use sponges, brushes, dry on wet, dry on dry, wet on wet? The look that I’m after has been mastered by David Tripp, actually everything in watercolors has been mastered by David Tripp, but if anyone knows of a video or book that might help, please let me know.  Well, I hope that you think my tractor sexy, and you’ll return with comments and helpful hints.  Thanks!

10 responses

  1. Ryan, I am in the peanut gallery and not among the expert, but I wouldn’t change a single thing! I think it’s absolutely gorgeous!!!!! *clap*clap*clap*

    June 29, 2011 at 5:56 am

  2. Great job on the tractor and I like how you painted the grasses too!

    June 29, 2011 at 7:03 am

  3. Well, personally, I like your grasses better than my grasses, so not much help from me.
    From reading David’s blog I know he dry brushes. I know he could help and would probably not mind your inquiry, Ryan.
    I like this painting and am really liking that blue color behind the tractor.

    July 1, 2011 at 8:44 pm

    • Thanks Leslie!
      I think my biggest problem is that I over work it and run the entire painting to the edges. I guess that comes from years of canvas painting, but I’m working on it.

      July 5, 2011 at 4:52 am

  4. aswirly

    Oh man, that is one sexy tractor! Sizzling… 😉

    July 3, 2011 at 9:11 pm

    • Well Thank you! It’s old, rusty, but still runs like a deere! LOL

      July 5, 2011 at 4:40 am

  5. Stunning work. I love the colours in the background.

    July 9, 2011 at 8:54 am

    • Thank you and welcome to my blog!
      This is one that I was trying to loosen up and try new was of painting foreground grass and weeds, I still wasn’t happy, but I’m learning. Thanks again for the kind comment

      July 10, 2011 at 5:31 am

  6. Actually I like the grass the way it is…loose and painterly. If you were more precise, it would just be a photograph. I did grasses like that a long time ago (http://ruthhurd.com/florida/#jp-carousel-969). Unfortunately, it is so long ago I no longer remember how I did it.

    May 29, 2015 at 9:03 am

Leave a Reply

