from a dad's view

Let’s get Tubular

Once again my family and I are heading to the beach soon, and I just can’t wait.  All my life I have had a love for tropical weather, sunshine and the salty ocean.  This maybe one of the last vacations taken for a while with both of my girls, and we’re hoping to make a lot of memories.  Disney, Seaworld, Deep Sea Fishing, and horse back riding on the beach, all rolled up into one week.  My oldest daughter is a senior in college, and our youngest will be a senior in high school this year and leaving for college next year, so after this year who knows where they will be.

I found this picture on the net, and really like the framing of the land with the tubular shape of the wave.  I had to scan it in two sections and try to piece it together, so there may be an erase line or distortion down the middle.  It’s all watercolor on 140lb coldpress paper.  So grab your surf board… or lounge chair and join me on the beach, for a bone rattling good time!  SURF’S UP!

21 responses

  1. WOWZA-Kowakabunga!!! Isn’t that a surfer’s term? 😀 This is dazling, Ryan!! I enlarged it and studied it for the longest time! Amazing!!!! Have fun at the beach!

    July 7, 2011 at 6:05 am

    • Thanks Beth!
      Sure could use a pilot to fly our butts down there! Hint Hint, that 15 hour drive just doesn’t thrill me anymore. Hopefully I’ll have time for some plein airing while down there.

      July 7, 2011 at 6:11 am

  2. aswirly

    Wooooo hoooooo I love it! I can almost hear the ocean in this painting. Beautiful wave! Any surfer would be stoked to ride that tube. When do you head to the beach?

    July 7, 2011 at 6:31 am

    • Thank you Amber,
      Let’s just say I have only about a week to get into my Speedo shape… I know calm down everyone, your wishing that you could see that, but unless your one of the lucky ones in Florida, you’re just out of luck! I’ll paint a mental picture for ya, Speedos with a slight gut hanging over, no butt and skinny little legs holding all that up… just thru up in your mouth a little bit didn’t ya, sorry! LOL, just kidding, regular baggy swimming trunks for this old man.

      July 7, 2011 at 6:47 am

      • aswirly

        haha… you are killing me!

        July 8, 2011 at 11:07 am

      • That’s funny, that’s what the people said when they seen me at the beach… You’re killing me!

        July 10, 2011 at 5:33 am

  3. Wow!! Now that’s a wave! I can hear it as I type, right here on the beach!

    July 7, 2011 at 6:50 am

    • Thank you Debbie!
      This is one of those flip you upside and smack you on the bottom waves. A lot of sunglasses, room keys and swim suites have been lost to this kind of waves… been there done that!

      July 10, 2011 at 5:39 am

  4. In my life, I have never seen an ocean! only I saw Caspian see. actually it is the biggest lake on the earth! have a nice time!

    July 7, 2011 at 8:47 am

    • The beautiful pure white sands and blue waters of the gulf of mexico is where we usually go. I hope that some day you can go, the oceans beach and life is something that shouldn’t be missed in a lifetime. Thank you again, and I love your flower, I just haven”t left a comment yet.

      July 7, 2011 at 9:17 am

  5. This is beautiful and I love the blues used, Ryan. Have a great time!

    July 7, 2011 at 3:01 pm

    • Thank you Leslie
      I hope to do a few give aways while I’m down there, but our schedule looks pretty busy.

      July 10, 2011 at 5:35 am

  6. Linda Halcomb

    Takes me to the tropics. Great detail and color! Have a great time and enjoy those daughters. My youngest is getting married this weekend. It just gets better.

    July 8, 2011 at 4:05 am

    • Thank you Linda and congratulations with the wedding, have fun but be safe!

      July 10, 2011 at 5:34 am

  7. Stunning composition and great skill. Will be following more closely.

    July 9, 2011 at 8:51 am

  8. Amazing wave!!! Love the blues and greens and I’m ready to dive right in.

    Have a spectacular vacation with your family.

    July 9, 2011 at 6:48 pm

    • Thanks Carol!
      It’s been a while since our oldest has gone to Disney World with us, it was a place with so many great memories for us. This is the first time that her college schedule
      worked out and she’s pretty excited about the Disney and horse back riding on the beach, something she has always dreamed of.

      July 10, 2011 at 5:29 am

  9. I love this one!

    August 5, 2011 at 12:16 am

  10. feels like being there, amazing how you project us

    January 16, 2012 at 5:50 pm

    • Thank you again for the sweet comments. I live in the middle of the U.S. and the oceans are at least a 10 hour drive away, but my love for the oceans and it’s creatures has me returning each and every year. When it is -15c or 5f and snowing here, a painting sometimes takes me there where it’s warm, sand on my feet and a little kiss of sun warming my back.

      January 17, 2012 at 5:24 am

Leave a Reply

