from a dad's view

Tying one on

It’s been a long, long time since I had tied one on (a lure), but hopefully soon that will all change.  I love to fish as most of you know, not just to get fish, but for all the reasons that come with it. I have so many memories of my dad and I going fishing when I was young.  So along with my quick painting, I wrote a little diddy about those memories.

It was the night before the trip, and sleep was what I was needing. For you see before the sunrise, I was to be awaken and the words let’s go, would ring through the air.  I would shut my eyes in hopes of falling fast asleep, but that didn’t work because the excitement of fishing was racing through my head in the hopes of out fishing my dad, or catching the biggest one.  Finally after what seemed like forever, I would fall asleep.  After, what seemed like 10 minutes of sleep, my dad would come into the room and try to stir me out of bed, before he could say let’s go, I was up, throwing clothes on and headed for the door.  My Uncle that went with us a lot, had an old truck and the boat, so we would meet him at his house. We loaded up and headed out, but first was a stop at the local gas station to get in a glass bottle… yes kids that’s right, glass, ice-cold glass bottle of yahoo chocolate milk for me, and soda for them, along with a few sweet snacks… breakfast of champions!  The old soda machine was the type that you opened a chest like top, put your money in, and then slid your bottle (ice-cold) along a maze like track till it reached the end and came out.  We ere now on our way and by this time the sun has just begun to bring its brilliance to the horizon.  We would finally reach the lake, but the lakes always seemed to be way out in the middle of a weedy pasture, so we would drive as far out as possible and then my dad and uncle would carry the boat the rest of the way. I would trail behind carrying rods, boxes and drinks, and wearing shorts (important later), very seldom did I wear shirt or shoes, and always shorts (important later). We then would reach the quick sand like mud at the edge of the lake, you know the type of knee-deep mud that sucks your feet down, and won’t let go of your shoes or boots. Finally we are in the boat ready to cast for bass, blue gill or anything else that might tug at our line. About noon we would get our sandwiches that my mom would make that had been floating in a bag back and forth in the water at the bottom of the boat, a little soggy, but good after fishing all morning.  Once we got our stringer full or it was late we would head back to the truck.  Of course on the way home I would fall asleep because of the all day sun and getting up before sunrise, and the only thing that would awaken me was the constant clank of the yahoo and soft drink bottles (Glass) rolling back and forth on the pickups floor.  My dad and uncle would clean the fish, and then it was off to go back home, bath,  and go to bed.  With the memories of the one that got away, or the big one that was now in our freezer, or how great the yahoo tasted that morning, just a full day of great memories. Something I will take with me to my grave. Thank you dad for taking the time, and for scraping enough money together to buy those ice-cold (in the bottle) drinks, and also my uncle that had the boat, truck, and the time to go with us.

But for the (important later) inserts, I’ll do a math like description:

Shorts – shirt – bugs spray of any kind + waist-high weeds = CHIGGERS!

From the belt line down, and I’m including some very important parts here, nothing but chiggers bites! I have counted 40-50 just in the waist line area (including some very important parts), and even more down the legs. Now for you that don’t know what chiggers are, they are flea like pest that bite and embed themselves in your skin and create an unbelievable itch.  I can hear some of you laughing… and shame on you, and you know who you are, but this was serious stuff for days and days afterwards! Three words for you that find this funny… Very Important Parts!

12 responses

  1. Hilary

    Great post! Had me chuckling for sure!

    July 12, 2011 at 2:59 pm

    • Thanks Hillary!
      Always glad to bring laughter into the world… even if it’s at my expense! LOL

      July 14, 2011 at 6:58 am

  2. What a beautiful, serene, lovely painting. I love the fisherman’s reflection in the water and how intent he is on working on that hook.

    July 12, 2011 at 7:36 pm

    • Thank you Carol,
      It’s the same as me with-out my old man glasses on, trying to thread a line through a extremely small hole and everything within two feet of your nose a complete blur! God I hate getting old!

      July 14, 2011 at 6:54 am

  3. Beautiful painting, Ryan and I LOVE the story, too. My dad used to take me fishing, too. I have great memories of fishing for trout in streams in Colorado, where we lived at the time. I also like that fairly new country song… “and she thinks we’re just fishing” is the only line I can remember off the top of my head.

    And again… WONDERful painting!!!

    July 13, 2011 at 7:39 am

    • I loved taking my daughters fishing, and learning to leave my rod at home was a must because they constantly were hooking trees, bushes, each other, me, but to see their eyes light up when they got a bite, was priceless. So many great memories! Thanks Beth!

      July 14, 2011 at 6:48 am

  4. Chiggers and poison ivy. Don’t forget the poison ivy! 🙂 Cool memory. I fished with my Grandparents and though I found that time enjoyable with them I liked their taking me swimming and such better. There was something at an early age that really affected me about watching the life go out of something. That’s just me, but am glad they took me so I could learn that about myself. …and they dealt with me kindly on the topic and took me to learn other things like mushrooming.
    Really nice painting. I am assuming the black linework is ink? Very cool lines and this whole piece works nicely Ryan!

    July 13, 2011 at 2:32 pm

    • Poison ivy never was to bad for myself, I would get it but never very bad. But my wife has been covered both external and some internal with poison ivy and was on medication for a long time for it.

      The line work was done with a tech or mechanical pen and then watercolor over that once dried. Thanks Leslie!

      July 14, 2011 at 6:45 am

  5. I like the sense of total absorption and intentionality in the pose. Very well rendered! I’ve read a painting advice somewhere – paint what you know. Clearly here: you know your fishing very well, and it shows in the painting!

    July 14, 2011 at 1:20 pm

    • Thank you Alex!
      I love fishing for fun and in tournaments, and have done it all my life.

      July 14, 2011 at 2:57 pm

  6. Oh, I love this ! You make water look so easy to paint !!

    July 15, 2011 at 7:43 am

    • I enjoy painting water because it is something that I stay looser with. Thanks!

      July 25, 2011 at 10:31 am

Leave a Reply

