from a dad's view

Misty Morn’n

Walk with me this morning, the air has a crisp cool nip and the sun is arising lifting the morning mist. We’ll talk about family, beauty, and possibly art, but it will be calm and good for the heart.  Well this sounds good and soon will be possible, but right now the Indiana morning have been 80 degrees and the humidity about 90%.  People in the south say we don’t know heat like they have… until they come to Indiana in July and they soon want to return back to the cooler, ocean breeze of Florida.  Don’t get me wrong, parts of Indiana is as pretty as it gets, especially in the fall, but the change in weather is extreme both directions, 100’s high humidity to 0 degree and ice and snow.  So, join me in the misty morning painting, a sweater or hoody jacket on, mug of coffee, and a good conversation as we stroll down this wonderful lane heading to friendshipville.

This was my first attempt at fog or mist. I tried to keep it to just a few colors attempting to keep a calm look to it all. Not sure if I pulled it off, but it was fun trying.  Thanks and everyone have a great weekend!

27 responses

  1. You brought me on the walk with your suave writing, Ryan, and have tell you I enjoyed the walk immensely. The walk reminded me of home in WV which I will be enjoying in just a few more months.
    Your painting is beautiful, Ryan, and if that is the first time you’ve ever attempted mist I would have never known. You are a pro at it already.
    Enjoy your weekend.

    July 14, 2011 at 7:05 am

    • I think it would be a blast to walk with all of my bloggers friends or better yet a cruise and do some plein airing and conversation, you all would be a fun time, I can tell. Although it seems that most of my blog visitors are ladies and very few men, not sure if the artwork or what, but that’s fine, with three women in my house, I’m used to it.
      It’s odd, but as much as we go to the beach on vacation I have never been to the mid and upper eastern Atlantic coast, It’s a little further from us than Destin, Florida, but I’ll have to head that way someday and give it a shot.
      This is the first attempt, and I found it hard not to add to much color in the background, but I was pretty happy with final. Thank you Debbie!

      July 14, 2011 at 7:28 am

  2. Here is really hot too. The weather is awfull. someday its abut 40C.
    your piece is beautiful… I felt the coldness of misdt on my skin when I saw it.

    July 14, 2011 at 7:09 am

    • I love the heat more than the winter, but a calm winter can be a break from the extreme heat every once in awhile. Stay cool as much as possible, and thank you!

      July 14, 2011 at 7:16 am

  3. Beautiful painting, Ryan! You really got the fog and the ambiance. Beautiful, serene and inviting.

    You are painting faster than I can comment, lol! I am still processing your fishing post. Better go and try to say something semi-intelligent there…

    July 14, 2011 at 1:15 pm

    • Thanks!
      Don’t get to intelligent on me or I won’t know how to respond! lol

      July 14, 2011 at 2:58 pm

  4. I like this…it is like a pleasant memory returning as a surprise.

    July 15, 2011 at 5:14 am

  5. You pulled off the foggy morning just fine, Ryan! …and it IS Indiana for sure. I am not looking forward to the heat they are predicting this week.

    July 15, 2011 at 5:14 am

  6. Oh My Goodness, this is splendid. I really feel like I can do just that. You captured misty fog just perfectly.
    peace,
    CheyAnne

    July 15, 2011 at 7:07 am

  7. WOW !!

    July 15, 2011 at 7:41 am

  8. Ryan, this is incredible. I thought it was a photograph. Very well done – you made the right decision with the color palette. Very soothing and quiet!

    July 25, 2011 at 2:55 am

    • Thanks Linda,
      I hope is going well and I’ll be visiting your blog soon, just getting caught back up from vacation.

      July 25, 2011 at 9:47 am

  9. You are a master at “atmosphere” ! Wonderful !

    July 28, 2011 at 6:49 am

    • Thank you so much for being kind with your comment, but I feel so much like a beginner when attempting these things, always questioning myself every step of the way.

      July 28, 2011 at 12:19 pm

  10. aswirly

    Not sure if you pulled it off??? Whaaaa…. It looks amazing. You totally painted fog. It’s beautiful. I would love to take a wander down that path.

    July 28, 2011 at 12:50 pm

    • I’ve been in a fog all my life… kind of like a blonde!

      July 28, 2011 at 4:57 pm

  11. Gorgeous! I had to take a second glance to make sure that this wasn’t just a photograph! How in the world do you paint fog?? Haha.

    Really, it’s just beautiful.

    P.S. I resent that blonde comment above! 😉

    July 29, 2011 at 10:27 am

    • Thank you for the visit and allowing me to comment on your blog. Your always welcome here as long as you agree with me! LOL
      And for the blonde comment, I’m beyond blonde… I’m gray and old! I have the leave one room, and forget what you went for before reaching the other room syndrome. Thanks for the kind comment.

      July 29, 2011 at 11:08 am

  12. Cassie Bouska

    I LOVE this one! I think you did a great job depicting the mist and the lighting is excellent!

    October 5, 2011 at 10:00 am

    • Thank you,
      This one was a challenge for me but I enjoyed the experience. Thanks for dropping in and visiting!

      October 5, 2011 at 10:18 am

  13. Jonathan Day

    Just excellent.

    October 9, 2011 at 9:01 pm

  14. This is so beautiful! And your writing is so inviting, enjoyable like one of those easy friendships with someone you’ve know for years. Thank you for your blessings.

    November 6, 2011 at 9:42 am

    • Thank you for the comment on my art and my writing. I have always said that my grammer is poor, but I try to write as though the person was there with me during the scene or story.
      I hope you’ll return again soon!

      November 6, 2011 at 1:02 pm

  15. enchanted and magical

    January 16, 2012 at 5:49 pm

    • Thank you Loni and thank you for visiting my blog. I hope you’ll return soon.

      January 17, 2012 at 5:19 am

Leave a Reply

