from a dad's view

A House on Amelia Island – Final Watercolor

I finally got some time to finish this watercolor of a home in Amelia Island.  It was a first for me on painting a palm tree like this. My scans are still crap, I can’t seem to get the colors and contrast to show true to the painting.  This was a beautiful place to visit and I would recommend to any one for visiting, but especially artist, beautiful history, beach and homes. We were only there for a day, but I’ll be back hopefully soon for several days of plein airing.

18 responses

  1. This is breathtakingly gorgeous, Ryan! Of course, I knew it would be, from the first glimpse! Amazing! Where is our mint julep?

    August 8, 2011 at 7:25 am

    • Thanks Beth!
      After the week I have had at work, anything with a little alcohol in it couldn’t hurt.
      Also, keep an eye on my blog for the RYAN HAS TO MANY PAINTINGS blow out, If you have seen something on my blog that you might be interested in let me know.

      August 8, 2011 at 8:07 am

  2. Ryan, you have done it again…you know, created another masterpiece. 🙂 This is a very beautiful painting, and appears to be a beautiful place that you enjoyed visiting very much. I do hope you get to go soon to enjoy more painting time there as well as other enjoyable endeavors. Beautiful work, Ryan!

    August 8, 2011 at 7:55 am

    • Thank you Debbie!
      There were a few new techniques for me used and the palm was something different.
      Also, I was replying to Beth, keep an eye on my blog for the RYAN HAS TO MANY PAINTINGS blow out, If you have seen something on my blog that you might be interested in let me know.

      August 8, 2011 at 8:09 am

  3. Bright!!! Southern!! …and very American! Really like how you handled the tree, flag and door, compositionally, for sure. This is beautiful, Ryan.

    August 8, 2011 at 3:03 pm

    • Thank you Leslie,
      I tried to make the flag the focal point, but my tree got a little carried away. But it still adds a touch of Patriotism

      August 11, 2011 at 5:45 pm

      • The door is the focal point for me. It asks me to enter. I come in the painting along the tops of the bushes to the right and my eye slides up the trunk ogf the tree to take that in. On the way back down I am welcomed by the flag and take a turn to knock on that door. That is the focal point but the tree and the flag support it . Excellent composition. At least that is this viewer’s take on it.

        August 11, 2011 at 7:26 pm

  4. Looks spectacular, Ryan! I love the contrast of sizes! The southern light is brilliant!

    I am never able to get my scans true in terms of color. Always have to adjust the image in GIMP after scanning to get it closer to what it should look like. Do you use any image manipulating software?

    August 8, 2011 at 6:07 pm

    • Thanks Alex!
      I do use a color correction sometimes, but I have noticed that my monitor is set differently than others. So what I see on my screen differs from what mine at home and the other monitors show. I am going to start selling my paintings online and I hope this doesn’t create future headaches.

      August 9, 2011 at 5:49 am

  5. your piece of painting will help me to paint a palm tree… I wanted to paint it but I did not know how ….

    August 9, 2011 at 8:32 am

    • I hope it helps, it was new to me to paint a palm. I used masking liquid and a toothpick for the palm leaves, painted them, removed the masking, and then painted in the details. I hope this helps!

      August 9, 2011 at 10:19 am

  6. Androgoth

    You have made a most sterling effort on this
    one my friend and the results are truly excellent…

    Androgoth

    August 9, 2011 at 12:01 pm

    • Sorry Androgoth, nothing on the dark side yet… but Halloween is soon, so there might be one thrown in soon, real BLOODY soon! Thanks!

      August 11, 2011 at 5:41 pm

  7. Beautiful painting. Amelie Island is a place I’ve always wanted to visit as is Cumberland Island. You handle detail SO well. Bravo!

    August 9, 2011 at 2:28 pm

    • Thanks Linda,
      I’m not sure why this island captures my creativity as much as it did, but it is a beautiful small place. You need to pack up the paints and give it a try someday.

      August 11, 2011 at 5:38 pm

  8. aswirly

    The palm tree looks soooo real. An amazing painting Ryan. Very beautiful.

    August 18, 2011 at 6:58 am

  9. kgear3

    I love this! It reminds me of the South, and I’m always missing there. This is gorgeous, great job.

    August 24, 2011 at 4:27 pm

    • Thank you Kgear and thanks for taking a peek at my blog. The south is beautiful with amazing architecture, and this island is a wonderful example. Thanks!

      August 24, 2011 at 5:14 pm

Leave a Reply

