from a dad's view

Dolphins – Acrylic

Finally… I know that’s what you’re thinking, but to be honest, it’s still not finished! The little guy has a little more detail and final layer to be put on it, but then it’s finished.  I haven’t worked on this since the last post showing it’s progress, so I picked it up last night and attempted to finish it but had to get up at 5:00 this morning and going to bed at midnight, well let’s just say this old man can’t take it anymore.  This is an acrylic on 24″ x 36″ stretched canvas.  I have learned that the more detail with acrylics, the better I am with them, so this was a challenge since I haven’t used acrylics for sometime now.  I’m still using the old school dry fast acrylics, but I’m thinking about switching to the new drying slower acrylics. If any one has an opinion on them let me know what you think.

This painting may be sold already, but if not I will be selling it for $250.00, but not until I know for sure next week-end.

Everyone have a wonderful, safe, labor day!

22 responses

  1. Color, composition, subject matter. I like them all! Truly wonderful painting, Ryan.

    September 2, 2011 at 6:06 am

  2. Absolutely heart-warming. Beautiful work. The color of the ocean is perfect.

    September 2, 2011 at 6:54 am

    • Thank you Linda,
      Something about a dolphin makes me think of freedom and fun. They just look happy all the time.

      September 2, 2011 at 8:31 am

  3. You are a man after my own heart. I love dolphins, there my favorite to see in the ocean as I sit on the beach. Seems like a gift when I see them.
    Your painting is so beautiful, as if I could reach out and touch them. Excellent work, Ryan!

    Deb x

    September 2, 2011 at 8:13 am

    • Thank you Debbie,
      Every time that I see them, I think there must be a higher being that created such beauty.
      So every time that you see one, I want you to think of me, back here in Indiana stuck next to the nasty, muddy Ohio river. Man, am I jealous!

      September 2, 2011 at 8:37 am

  4. jennygoth

    fantastic i can see you have put a lot of work into it xxjen

    September 2, 2011 at 11:43 am

    • Thank you Jenn and welcome to my blog. I know it’s a big difference from Adro’s but I’ll hope you’ll return and visit every once in awhile.

      September 9, 2011 at 7:46 am

  5. I hear you about final details and the last layer, but already this is so beautiful! The play of reflections on dolphins skin makes me smile – it is just a happy thing!

    September 2, 2011 at 11:52 am

    • Thank you Alex,
      I’ll be honest with you, it’s been awhile since I’ve used acrylics and because they so fast, I struggled a little on this one. But as long as it brings a smile or a happy thought… I’m good with that!

      September 9, 2011 at 7:45 am

  6. I really love this painting and the underwater view of the dolphins.

    September 5, 2011 at 6:04 pm

    • Thank you Carol, but you really do need to come up for air now! LOL

      September 9, 2011 at 7:41 am

  7. This painting reminds me of WHY I have always wanted to swim with the dolphins! I have never painted them, but man, you have done an awesome job!!!! Wow!!

    September 6, 2011 at 1:09 pm

    • Thank you!
      Someday I really want to give my kids (adults) a chance to swim with these beautiful creatures, either at Seaworld’s discovery cove or in the wild. I would love to do the same but I want them to have the chance before myself.

      September 9, 2011 at 7:40 am

  8. aswirly

    It’s still not done?? But… but… it looks amazing!! Really. It has only taken me so long to comment because I was left speechless 😉 It is such a beautiful piece.

    September 7, 2011 at 7:26 am

    • You speechless… Oh come on Amber, I know better than that! LOL
      Thank you for being so sweet, and I hope when you see these little fellows at the ocean the next time, it will remind you of the painting.

      September 9, 2011 at 7:35 am

  9. Androgoth

    These Dolphins are superb my friend
    and the exquisite detail is indeed remarkable…

    Brilliant work…

    Androgoth

    September 7, 2011 at 2:16 pm

  10. Wow! This is so perfect, it’s almost unreal… if this makes sense! Really amazing work, bravo !

    September 8, 2011 at 9:30 am

  11. beautiful. lovely creatures, and a lovely painting!

    September 12, 2011 at 6:24 pm

    • Thank you Cursi and welcome to my corner of the blog world!

      September 17, 2011 at 8:52 am

  12. Ras Alonso

    Another great painting look so realistic, great job Smalltowndad.

    January 13, 2012 at 4:22 pm

Leave a Reply

