from a dad's view

Old Rusty Piece of…. Beauty!

With Fall approaching fast and the temperatures dropping, I find my self thinking of treasures, not the treasures of a pirate ship, although that would be great but other treasures.  Call me a nerd but I love to explore, metal detect, yes I said metal detect, you would be absolutely amazed how many old coins, historical relics, old toys and so much more is still hidden by the earth.  In almost every yard of a house that was built in the sixties and earlier, have I not found a silver coin.  Unfortunately in Indiana the ground by the end of June or July is so freaking hard, not only can you not dig, but you would have to use a jack hammer to dig anything.  Along with metal detecting, I also loved to explore the woods for hidden treasures such as this old car, and other pieces with a story.  I look at these pieces of rust different from others, I always wonder about the story behind them, was the family poor, rich, did they have the vacation memories in this car, like I have in ours now.  Like the Picker Sisters, I have decided to collect some of these pieces and create some art or furniture out of them, hopefully will post photos someday soon.

This original watercolor is 7 1/2″  x  7 1/2″ on 140 lb coldpress paper.  The colors may vary due to the scan.   $100.00

14 responses

  1. I’m glad to see this finished, Ryan! It’s beautiful!!! 🙂 I hope to see some of your upcycled found pieces used in your art.

    September 15, 2011 at 6:14 am

    • I hope to find and build something soon, I have a lot of ideas swimming in the empty space called my head! Thanks Beth!

      September 17, 2011 at 8:46 am

  2. It turned out great just as I knew it would, Ryan. Happy hunting!

    September 15, 2011 at 6:36 am

    • Thank you Debbie, you’re way to sweet, but thanks!

      September 17, 2011 at 8:45 am

  3. I dig this, Ryan! Anywhere in a back field in Indiana is my thought. I really like the perspective in this where the big front end sort of says, “Hello!” Have a great day!

    September 15, 2011 at 10:57 am

    • I see it as the Jimmy Duranty (big nosed actor) of cars. I cha cha cha, for those who remember him. Thanks Leslie

      September 17, 2011 at 8:44 am

  4. Wayside Artist

    When this page opened up, I said, “OOOO!!!” Fantastic painting, Ryan. I used to see a rusted hulk of a car or pickup, even an old tractor on my walks. But, it’s so built up around here I rarely see any now. This brought back the thrill of discovery!

    Nanina

    September 15, 2011 at 11:31 am

    • We still have plenty of fields and barns filled with wonderful treasures in southern Indiana. Thanks!

      September 17, 2011 at 8:42 am

  5. This is so fun ! I agree with Leslie, this car has personality ! Your work is amazing ! Love the colors !

    September 17, 2011 at 6:43 am

    • Thank you.
      what was reaaly cool about this car is that if you look close to the original photo by taylor, it had a vine or branch growing out of the top of the hood where the hood ornament would have been. It looks like a big old nose with a few old man hairs sticking out of it, almost comic on it’s own. Thanks again!

      September 17, 2011 at 8:40 am

  6. I like its colors, very nice!

    September 19, 2011 at 2:40 am

  7. Linda Halcomb

    Wow! I can see the smile and the eyes looking right at me! What fun…

    September 21, 2011 at 12:39 pm

  8. That is a **good** watercolor.

    September 29, 2011 at 8:46 pm

  9. alonso2k12

    Great painting, I love the old rustic look.

    January 13, 2012 at 7:41 am

Leave a Reply

