from a dad's view

Cardinals Win!

But this little guy doesn’t act that happy about it. Sure the other cardinals are making millions of dollars, living in huge HEATED homes, or better yet flying to some tropical island for the winter until spring training.  While this little sits in a pine tree draped with heavy snow and as snow continues to fall on his little head.  Life would be a lot better for him if they made Snuggies in his size!

Oh and congratulations to the St. Louis Cardinals and their amazing year of baseball. I’m not a huge baseball fan, NFL football and College basketball are my favorites, but I’ll have to admit that the ending season and the World Series this year was pretty exciting.

I did this 7″ x 10″ watercolor last night while watching t.v., I haven’t had a lot of time to paint so I wanted to do something simple just to keep myself painting. Everyone have a safe and family filled Thanksgiving, and give thanks for what you have no matter how little it is.

13 responses

  1. This is beautiful, Ryan! If you made a little snuggie, I’d pay money to watch you put it on him. 🙂

    Have a wonderful Thanksgiving!!

    November 23, 2011 at 5:58 am

    • My dad always said “all you have to do to catch a bird , is to put salt on it’s tail” so give me a snuggie and a salt shaker and let me at it! LOL oh, that will be ten bucks by the way

      November 23, 2011 at 9:13 am

  2. Happy Thanksgiving, Ryan! I am glad I am not looking through snowflakes at my resident cardinal, as yet! This painting looks just like him! Top notch!

    November 23, 2011 at 6:34 am

    • Thank you Leslie,
      no snow here but enough rain to fill the oceans.

      November 23, 2011 at 9:12 am

  3. This is such a beautiful painting, Ryan!
    Hope you and yours have a wonderful Thanksgiving!
    Deb xx

    November 23, 2011 at 10:01 am

  4. What a cutie. I love this little red bird on the branch in the snow.

    Happy Thanksgiving to you and your family.

    November 23, 2011 at 12:00 pm

  5. I like the cardinal Ryan. We see a lot of them over the winter, although I am hoping for a LOT less snow this year. By this time last year I am sure we had already had some.

    November 25, 2011 at 6:29 pm

    • Thanks Ruth,
      I hope the snow and ice just stays away from southern Indiana this year, we’ve had enough liquid weather already!

      December 9, 2011 at 5:12 am

  6. aswirly

    You can paint while watching TV? Ooooh you are talented. grrr… I can listen to music, but tv is pushing it. I love love love this Cardinal with it’s dusting of snow. Just beautiful!

    November 27, 2011 at 6:03 pm

    • Is that a Growl I hear from Amber, I didn’t know you had that in ya! I love music as you probably know, I’ve listened to music in everything that I do forever. I’d often said that I would trade my art abilities in exchange for a Steve Perry quality voice. I love to sing but only where people won’t punch me for doing it! Now, no more growling young lady!

      December 9, 2011 at 5:10 am

  7. Wow love the Red bird with an atitude. He’s not from one of the Angry Bird character is he? just jokking. I like the show effect on it’s red coat, very life like. Happy belated Thanks Giving to you and your family.

    December 6, 2011 at 4:42 pm

    • Thanks Francis,
      The snow is done with liquid mask, splattered from a tooth brush bristles. I use this effect a lot this time of the year and it’s fun to see the result. Thanks and have a great weekend!

      December 9, 2011 at 5:06 am

  8. He is so beautiful ! Well done !

    January 3, 2012 at 7:17 pm

Leave a Reply

