from a dad's view

Sweet Jane – Watercolor

Set a float, with very little worries. Sun warming your skin, and a cooling mist of salty spray reaching over the bow.

The flash of emerald-green and blues from the heaven above mirroring off each ripple and wave.

Gentle motion of the rocking sea, holds and cradles you like a mother’s arms while putting a baby asleep.

The hypnotic rhythm of the sea crashing into the side of the boat and along the shore, as though an orchestra of wind and water plays as one instrument.

My heart slows, my mind calms, my body becomes one with the ocean, and all rhythms and sounds becomes my soul as my soul becomes one with the ocean.

I had mentioned my favorite artist in past post that I have always admired, but as I travel, I admire only one as the greatest artist of all… that would be God.  Whether you believe in God or not, the Earth has such wonders, as small as the road map of life on an autumn leaf, or as large as the sculpted stone mountains and the deepest blue of oceans.  I just find it hard to believe that just evolution would have had such an artistic touch in producing such life.  To me, evolution would have produced a more duplicating canvas. At one point supposedly all creatures were the same, from the same region, if this is so, why would some grow limbs to leave the oceans to survive, wouldn’t they all?  And those who merged from the oceans, why would some grow teeth, wings, claws, larger brains, some with hair, some without? IF they are still in the same region and climates, would they have all not gained the same evolutionary benefits? I may be a fool for believing in a higher creator of life, but my soul as a Christian and as an artist, tells me otherwise. Even if your beliefs aren’t with God, take time to stop and appreciate each of what has been given.

I painted the watercolor above last night while watching t.v. and thinking of Spring Break just around the corner. It is a 12″ x 16″ watercolor on 140lb coldpress paper. I hope you enjoy the painting and thanks for putting up with my thoughts!

16 responses

  1. beautiful! and your amazing description makes me miss the ocean so much!

    January 31, 2012 at 10:34 am

    • Thank you Sarah for visiting and commenting. I hope to be at the beach in a few months, the white sands of Florida, but it’s a ten hour drive from where I live… wish it was closer!

      January 31, 2012 at 7:09 pm

  2. This is absolutely beautiful, Ryan! With my hectic life, this looks like heaven! I wouldn’t even bring a fishing pole! 🙂

    January 31, 2012 at 11:34 am

    • Thanks Beth!
      just cast a line and bobber… but no hook, the bobber will hypnotize you but without the bother of a bite.

      January 31, 2012 at 7:06 pm

  3. Wonderfully sweet and relaxing painting, Ryan! Your style is changing, you appear to be more relaxed and free with your paintings. Do you feel this or am I imagining it?

    January 31, 2012 at 4:20 pm

    • Thank you so much for being with me long enough to see the growth in my art. I’m do feel that I’m growing and I hope to keep growing and learning. It was a goal of mine to branch out from the world of 25 years of graphic arts into the freedom of the fine arts. Thank you again!

      January 31, 2012 at 7:03 pm

  4. It’s gorgeous!

    February 1, 2012 at 1:24 pm

  5. I really , really like the blues you achieved, in this painting, Ryan. Definitely south sea. I admire your darks. I think I told you that before. I get confidence to push my darks furthur because I’ve seen your paintings.

    February 4, 2012 at 9:19 am

    • Thank you Leslie and I have missed visiting your blog and others. You and others have inspired me and taught me so much, so it feels good when you say that I can give a little drop of it back. I hope all is well and I’ll visit soon!

      February 4, 2012 at 6:38 pm

  6. It looks so real and beautiful. You’re very, very talented, Ryan. I wish someday I could paint as well.
    Besides I love the colors you chose for the water, they’re so delicate! Ahhh I can’t wait for Summer 2012…. 🙂

    February 4, 2012 at 12:15 pm

    • Thank you for the kind comment, and you are so talented, so I’m not sure what you mean by “someday”. I’m hoping someday soon that my wife and I will be staying in southern Indiana during the summer and near a beach for the winters. I was born to have sand between my toes, the sound of the ocean and a fishing reel in hand! Thanks again!

      February 4, 2012 at 6:35 pm

  7. That water is beautiful. I’m ready to take a dunk in that gorgeous water.

    February 4, 2012 at 8:58 pm

  8. This looks so realistic great job man. Thanks for sharing. the way you get the water color to blend so lovely gives it a real wavy moving effect.

    February 11, 2012 at 12:46 pm

  9. This is very special. A gentle feeling of quiet and calm. Beautiful color.

    February 13, 2012 at 11:12 am

    • Thank you Linda, calm is what I’m looking for now days!

      February 14, 2012 at 2:56 pm

Leave a Reply

