from a dad's view

Aspen Trees, Greening for Spring – watercolor

Click on image to zoom in

A little celebration of what’s hopefully coming soon… Spring!  Southern Indiana has had a fairly calm winter but it’s time for it to get out and allow the spring time weather to roll in. This watercolor that I painted yesterday is a 5″ x 7″  on 140lb coldpress paper, 3 color watercolor palette and india inked tree. For some reason I decided to only use the pen and ink on the tree trunk and limbs, and watercolor the leaves… just something different I guess. By keeping the shading down to minimum, I think it gives a more graphic or illustrated look. Instead of shading I either kept a thin white line between items to separate them or just used the contrast in colors for depth.  Anyway I have a canvas acrylic almost finished and another larger watercolor about half way finished that I hope to post next week (if time allows). Until then I hope you like this one and thanks for visiting.

Please visit my Gallery at the top of my header to see other paintings of mine.

Also, I apologize to all my good friends of the blog world for my absence visiting your sites, it has been a crazy year so far. I hope to visit more in the coming months, but just always know that I admire all of your talents and friendliness.

15 responses

  1. Deb

    I zoomed in to get a closer look…great job on each leaf. Very gorgeous tree!

    February 17, 2012 at 6:45 am

    • Thank you Deb, this one was a fun little piece. haven’t had time for the larger ones.

      February 18, 2012 at 4:55 pm

  2. Wonderful painting promising spring, Ryan. I’m ready!

    February 17, 2012 at 8:18 am

  3. This is really wonderful, Ryan! I’m hoping spring will get here soon, although we have also had a rather mild winter.

    February 17, 2012 at 11:10 am

    • Time for home grown tomatoes and gardens! Thanks Beth

      February 18, 2012 at 4:54 pm

  4. This is beautiful! So fresh and full of the promise of spring!

    February 18, 2012 at 7:46 am

    • Thank you and yes hopefully warmer weather soon!

      February 18, 2012 at 4:52 pm

  5. Wow Ryan, I really like the black and white of the tree and the greens of the leaves. It makes a dramatic juxtaposition.

    February 19, 2012 at 7:20 pm

    • Thank you Carol… but… juxtaposition! Did you forget that I’m from southern Indiana… juxtaposition! Around here that’s how we say Just-a-postion, like when some one ask you what position was it in… you reply justaposition, what other position is there.
      Carol your a keeper, I don’t care what your husband says! LOL

      February 21, 2012 at 8:13 am

  6. Amazing symphony of greens ! Fabulous!

    February 26, 2012 at 8:12 pm

  7. Your watercolor painting is very beautiful! Recalls the beauty of Indiana, where I was born. Thank you very much for looking at my BOAT ART blog!

    March 1, 2012 at 3:30 am

  8. Complex and very well organized. You did an excelent job with the concept, planning, and execution. Marvelous burst of Spring!

    March 2, 2012 at 3:26 am

  9. I have that painting as a photograph!!!, I will put it up tomorrow!

    May 18, 2012 at 1:42 pm

Leave a Reply

