from a dad's view

I could have DIED! funny friday

Click on image to zoom in, and don’t forget to visit other paintings in my gallery in listings above.

So many near death events in my life… you laugh, but it’s true! How does a kid make it through so many years of stupidity and bad judgement. The unfinished stream above looks fun, cool and wet, but one similar to this one almost killed me, and my grandfather. Well, I decided to list a few, and feel free to list some of yours in a comment.

Here we go!

1. It brings fear back into my mind just to relive this in words. It was a beautiful summer day at Spring Mill Park in Indiana. The heat was beaming down, the humidity was so bad, fish could live out of water, and of course I was barefoot and shirtless. My family was gathered around the stream picnicking, the streams temperature was so cold it would make your feet numb if you stayed in it to long. That’s when this shirtless, shoeless kid decides that the moss, slime covered rocks would be a blast to play on in the stream… Bad Idea! Being about 6 or 7 years old (I think) I started across this death stream with balance and agility, so I thought, with in seconds my feet were in the air above my shoulders, my butt following my feet, and my head and shoulders were where my feet had begun the journey. Bam! Whack! (a little batman lingo) I hit the rocks right between my shoulder blades! Air shot out of my body like a gun, both lungs collapsed, ribs cracking, and death was near! Actually the wind just got knocked out of me, and the embarrassment did more damage than the fall. BUT I COULD HAVE DIED!  You ask how this nearly killed my granddad? His air left his body as fast as mine, although he wasn’t in the stream or hit any rocks… it was from laughing so hard! That’s right, my granddad nearly laughed himself to death that day and everyday after that when he often reminded me of that day.

2.  Another time, was when I thought that I was Evil Kenevil and decided that it would be a good idea to make a home-made bike ramp… wrong!  Back in my days (sounds like my dad) we didn’t have these fancy BMX bikes, we had sting rays, with crouch killing banana seats! And whose idea was it to make the boys bikes with the cross-bar… a woman! I think it was women that decided to pay back men by designing a bike with the man killing bar across the middle.  But it wasn’t the bar that got me… at least not this time, it was the amazing, blistering speed that I reached while flying down what seem like a mountain, hit the ramp, and of course just when leaving the ramp, you pull up hard and spring your legs  to get more altitude. Sounds cool! But if done just right, your bike leaves the ramp and continues on a circular motion. Now days the pros do this on purpose and continues into a flip… I WASN’T a pro and continue into a flip anyway, and proceeded to once again land on the back of my neck and head… I COULD HAVE DIED!  But I didn’t, after my lungs decided to work again, and oxygen was once again reaching vital organs, I sprung up and looked around in fear of someone seeing just how stupid I was.

3. The mini bike, that’s right, a mini bike. These were small motorcycles with a pull string starter and a frame made for war. They weren’t like the pansy scooters now days, these were death traps waiting to happen… and I had one.  The seat was a crappy piece of foam with about eight layers of tape wrapped around it for a custom upholstery look.  Foolishly we decided to load this mean machine up and take it to my Uncles… bad decision once again. My uncle standing in his front yard, cranked the string and roared the engine and said Ryan jump on and take it for a ride. Now remember as I’m telling the story, that I had already rode it a few times before.  I jumped on like the manly, 60 pound, Harley Dude that I was, cranked the accelerator and off I went. Oooooh @#$%! my mind panicked, my brain shut down, and everything that I knew to stop, went blank. Zoom around the house I went… to the side… to the back… to the side… and back to the front yard! My uncle laughing and standing in a defensive basketball stance, ready to grab me as I slowed down. The problem is… I didn’t slow down, I sped up! My eyes were as big as baseballs and my uncle’s got just as big once he realized that there was no stopping me.  I flew towards him, he dives out-of-the-way like a stuntman in an action movie, and past him I zoomed. About half way through his corn field, my brain clicked in, and I released the throttle and pulled the brake… that’s all it took! BUT I COULD HAVE DIED! And then there was the Spark Plug from this machine of death zipping past my and my brothers forehead at terminal velocity… Nearly killing us… but that’s another story!

The watercolor and ink above isn’t finished yet but I wanted to post something today. I hope to finish it next monday. Have a great weekend!

8 responses

  1. Ryan, the survivor! Thanks for sharing these -crazy- stories!! Oh my god!!! 😀
    And of course, I love your watercolor!!! Ahhh you’re so good.
    Can’t wait to see it finished.

    March 19, 2012 at 12:08 pm

  2. Those stories are so funny!
    Sorry for laughing at your misfortune.
    I could have died!

    March 20, 2012 at 6:26 pm

  3. Linda Halcomb

    Unlike you I was a stupid adult. With my daughter I was visiting Bermuda. We rented scooters to tour the island. I immediately forgot everything I ever knew about stopping a motorcycle and drove right into the side of a car. Didn’t even get out of the parking lot but I COULD HAVE DIED! (Amazingly did no damage to the car.)

    March 22, 2012 at 2:59 am

  4. Ah, Ryan, you bring back memories. Shhh, we must be close to the same age. One of my brothers had a banana bike until he left it front of a store…… I palled around with the 4 neighbor boys growing up. They did much more interesting things than the neighborhood girls. I myself am known for my klutziness which has tended to increase the older I get, much to my kids’ amusement. Check out my December 5 blog post to see my latest adventure, self inflicted of course. Sometimes I wonder how any of us managed to grow up in one piece.

    I like the new watercolor. I find water to be incredibly hard to do and yours is wonderful, as are the stones and trees. Loved the garden gate pen and ink too.

    March 22, 2012 at 8:25 am

  5. Deb

    I have not meet anyone in the blog sphere that can tell a story like you. I love this painting, Ryan! I also hope you had a great weekend in Florida!
    Hugs, xx

    March 26, 2012 at 2:26 pm

    • Oh I am full of crap, but that’s what makes a good story and a good fisherman… right! LOL
      I enjoy trying to bring to light my experiences the best way I can, putting people in my shoes (or barefoot) as though they were there. The sad thing is that these and many more are true. Wow… I could have died! LOL

      April 3, 2012 at 4:50 pm

  6. I will look forward to seeing this finished, Ryan. I like the color of blue you chose for the waterr with all the green reflecting into it. The texture in the background foliage can not be beat!

    March 31, 2012 at 7:59 am

    • Thanks Leslie, a little behind on commision paintings but hope to finish this one soon.

      April 3, 2012 at 4:44 pm

Leave a Reply

