from a dad's view

Spring Break – Watercolor

Click on image to zoom in for a larger view

Just got back from Spring Break, and a break was needed. Between health issues and the craziness of my work place, a little R&R was appreciated.  We went with some wonderful friends, which we have been best of friends now for at least ten years.  Their kids were in the same classes as ours, so that works out perfectly and their kids (now young adults) have wonderful values and ethics.  They are one of only a few couples that I would even consider staying in the same place for that many days.  Dr. Frank and myself have a lot in common. He loves to read… I don’t, He’s a doctor… I’m not, O.K. so we have some differences, but he loves the outdoors, hunting, fishing, hiking… and so do I. Our wives, well they have talking in common, and they do it well! LOL

This year was our youngest girls high school senior year, so we let them pick on where they wanted to go. A lot of their friends were going to Panama City Beach Florida, so that’s where we went. Being about a 11 hour drive from our house, it wasn’t to bad of a drive, I’m just not sure why Florida hasn’t figured out the direct route idea. We zoom down to Montegomery, Alabama, but then it’s back road and stop lights from there to Panama City. Hello! can anyone say direct interstate or major highway to Panama City! You have hundreds of thousands of northern white legs each year trying to get to Panama City to spend millions of dollars, and you can’t build a direct highway. Anyway, we had a great time and enjoyed every minute of a week of beautiful weather.

I didn’t have a lot of painting time but the watercolor above was one that I painted while laying on the white sands of Florida. I hope you enjoy and don’t forget to visit my Gallery at the top of the blog.

11 responses

  1. This is really beautiful, Ryan! I love all that glorious sunlight!! I’m glad you had a great time on spring break!

    April 3, 2012 at 1:14 pm

    • Thank you Beth,
      Sorry for very little blog action, but my computer has whacked out and still trying to get the bugs out. Had a great time and thank you for your comment.

      April 3, 2012 at 4:42 pm

  2. Monique Outzen

    Your work is beautiful! I met you on the beach and you took a photo of my daughter.I was hoping you were able to put something together of her as she was playing in the sands? Any chance you will still have something in the near future? Please contact me if you do.I would be very interested in purchase. Thank you!
    Monique

    April 9, 2012 at 8:20 am

    • Thank you for visiting and thank you for being so kind to a stranger on the beach. I’m a few commission paintings behind, and while on the the beach, the photos weren’t clear enough. But I have developed them and she is such a cute one, I’ll try to get a painting of her soon. Thanks again!

      April 11, 2012 at 11:23 am

  3. Oh Mamma Miaaaa!!!! Perfection!!!

    April 9, 2012 at 2:18 pm

    • Thanks! I enjoyed the warmth while painting this one.

      April 11, 2012 at 11:10 am

  4. I love this piece. Hard to capture but you did an amazing job, Well done!

    May 1, 2012 at 11:48 am

  5. Love this painting. The colors are delightful; so is the sand.

    June 1, 2012 at 5:33 am

    • I visited your blog and you do wonderful work. Thanks for the comment.

      June 1, 2012 at 5:52 am

      • Thank you, SmallTownDad. I’ve been working as a professional artist for over 20 years, but this is my first try with watercolors. I’m having fun, but still have lots to learn.

        June 1, 2012 at 5:58 am

Leave a Reply

