from a dad's view

Amber – Watercolor

Click on image to zoom in

Well, I had a little break in the action last night and even though I several commissioned paintings to start, I had very little time for a major project, so I found this photo of Amber that I had wanted to paint for awhile now and this is the end result. Amber does amazing photography and is creative in all that she does. A lot of her photos to me have this rich look to them and I didn’t capture exactly what I was hoping for, but I hope she approves. She has beautiful skin and the rich colors and at terns of the cloth draping her brings a wonderful contrast. Thank you Amber for allowing me to paint from a beautiful photo of yours!

This is all watercolor on Crescent hot pressed  illustration board. The image is 5 1/2″  x  8″

Don’t Forget to visit the Gallery at the very top of blog and also visit my other blog artbyrhayes.com (updated soon… I promise) Thanks Everyone!

15 responses

  1. carpelibrum

    This is beautiful!

    May 8, 2012 at 6:20 am

    • Thank you. and welcome to my little blog corner of the world! I hope you visit often.

      May 8, 2012 at 9:26 am

  2. aswirly

    I am so amazed and flattered! Wow Ryan. What a lovely way to start my day. Thank you. I’ll be back after work to enjoy ths more properly. 🙂

    May 8, 2012 at 7:41 am

    • Thanks Amber! I couldn’t do the photo (and subject justice), but I hope that you enjoy it. Elegant photo!

      May 8, 2012 at 9:29 am

  3. LOVE it Ryan!

    May 8, 2012 at 12:09 pm

  4. Great job on the painting of Amber.

    May 8, 2012 at 2:21 pm

    • Thanks Carol, I love her photos, they always are mysterious and full of class. Thanks! and I hope all is going well in the big city.

      May 9, 2012 at 7:07 am

  5. Beautyful 🙂 Thank you for sharing

    May 9, 2012 at 1:17 am

    • Hello Britta and welcome to my blog!
      I went to your blog and unfortunately was not able to view the photos, maybe next visit. Thank you for visiting!

      May 9, 2012 at 7:04 am

  6. Very, very beautiful!!

    May 10, 2012 at 2:28 am

    • Thank you and welcome back! It’s been a while since I’ve seen ya, but always a pleasure!

      May 10, 2012 at 8:19 am

  7. Wow. What I like most about this is the line work of the entire composition. My eye twists and turns to take it all in. The attention to detail in the dress is amazing!

    May 10, 2012 at 8:19 am

    • Thank you again, but all the credit goes to Amber (aswirly) and her amazing photos, so elegant!

      May 10, 2012 at 8:22 am

  8. Amazing!!
    I kinda hate when there are too many tiny details to paint but you really did an awesome job! Bravo.

    May 14, 2012 at 12:41 pm

  9. Pretty darn amazing for a “quick” piece of painting. Very rich and quite lovely.

    May 15, 2012 at 12:23 pm

Leave a Reply

