from a dad's view

Water Please! Water!

I know in Florida right now you people are hating me, but here in southern Indiana and several other states… we are as dry as a bone! Seriously, are grass which at this time of the year is vibrant green and alive, not now, it’s like walking on hay, and a single spark, are setting off field fires. So I had a little time today at lunch and thought of my grandma’s house in Illinois, that actually had and used a pump similar to this one. I’m not sure if the  ground well would have even had water in it now, or if it would have been just as dry.

This is a 8″ x 8″ watercolor on 140lb cold press paper.

Please check out the gallery at the top of my blog and I hope to update it soon, along with new paintings.

I hope the rain balances out and the south gets a little dryer… and we get a lot wetter!

11 responses

  1. This is gorgeous, Ryan! It’s hot and dry here, too. Yesterday was 105 and today is nearly the same, I think. The heat indexes are like 115! I hope this is not what we have to look forward to all summer!

    June 26, 2012 at 12:04 pm

    • I feel ya Beth! Nice today but the next several days are around the 103-105 mark! If I’m going to be that hot, there better be an ocean near by!

      June 26, 2012 at 12:41 pm

  2. A bit ironic that you paint a drought with watercolor. I’ll pray for you, more water & no fires.

    June 26, 2012 at 12:18 pm

    • It took a lot of spit to finish this one! Just joking, although I do have a habit of wetting the brush with my tongue… I’ll pay for that someday with some type of poisoning I’m sure. Got type anymore, my throats to dry…
      Thanks!

      June 26, 2012 at 12:40 pm

  3. ..you had a little time at lunch? wow, you continue to amaze me with the detail you add in your paintings. Awesome, with or without water 🙂

    June 26, 2012 at 12:24 pm

    • This was supposed to be a photo for a fellow buddy/artist here at work to work at home… he wasn’t happy with the results and I never got to see it. So I thought I would mess around with it today. Thanks!

      June 26, 2012 at 12:37 pm

  4. Reblogged this on photos4share.

    June 27, 2012 at 6:04 am

  5. I LOVE this picture Ryan! I started something similar, and you’ve inspired me to finish it. Your work gets better and better every time I visit your site. Keep the great work going!

    June 30, 2012 at 2:06 pm

  6. It is dry up here in the northern regions of Indiana, also, Ryan. I like this painting. I had a newer model at my farm, years ago. The well did go dry on us once but it was shallow and old. The next one did the trick. Hope it rains for you soon!!!!!

    July 2, 2012 at 5:20 pm

  7. I can’t believe it is this hot and dry this summer. Your pump reminds me of my great grandparents’ house in the early sixties over in Linton. Not only was there just a well for water, but there was no indoor bathroom! Not a favorite place for a a seven year old. Oh, and I love the painting.

    July 3, 2012 at 6:02 pm

  8. This is soft and nostalgic. I remember the pumps. We used to pump water into the water trough everyday in the summer. Great work.

    July 4, 2012 at 4:25 am

Leave a Reply

