from a dad's view

Night-time winter barn – watercolor

I’m not sure that there is a more peaceful moment than taking a night-time stroll, while the ground is covered with brilliantly white snow. The really cool thing is, that a flashlight or any other form of light isn’t needed, because the snow and moon creates its own illumination.  The only few sounds that are heard, is the crunching of the packing snow under your feet, and the whispers of the wind blowing through the trees.  I also think that you feel a little more alive, when you can feel the freshness and the crisp air entering your lung, and the visual of  life, when you exhale. I think this is important now days because we seem to be just living life, not appreciating being alive! I have a wonderful friend, with a wonderful family, that just lost a wonderful brother. He was young, but cancer didn’t care, and took his life just this weekend. He found out about his cancer less than a year ago, has battled strongly, but lost that battle Sunday. So the next time that you see your kids, parents, siblings and friends, squeeze a little harder on the hugs, grab their necks and wrap your arm around them a little more, and feel the love between your touch and their heart. And this winter if you are in an area that receives a white winters blanket, breath in and feel life entering your lungs, and breath out and see the air that God has given us, to enjoy the time that we have on the Earth.

This painting is dedicated to the memory of Larry, a brother of a friend, a son, father, husband, outdoorsman and a friend. Prayers for Larry’s family, and prayers for those who are still battling this awful disease.

11 responses

  1. Deb

    First of all, I’m very sorry for the loss of your friend’s brother Larry! My prayer are with you and his family.
    I know just what you are talking about walking in the evening of a blanket of snow…no flashlight needed. And the glimmers are amazing. With each breath I exhale I know just how alive I am when I see it. The whole experience is wonderful.
    You’re painting is very beautiful, and a lovely tribute to Larry.
    God Bless.
    ~Deb

    August 7, 2012 at 7:25 am

    • Thank you Deb,
      i seem to find life in so many places now, the ocean, winter snow, mountains, so many allow these wonders to pass with out allowing its wonder in. Have a great weekend!

      August 9, 2012 at 5:17 pm

  2. The sky looks amazing. I love this one so much.
    So sorry for your friend’s brother Larry. Life’s really unfair and hard. 😦 My grandpa lost his battle against cancer two weeks ago.
    Larry, his family and his friends are in my thoughts and prayers.

    August 7, 2012 at 11:09 am

    • I struggled with the loss of my father-in-law due to a auto accident 20 years ago. He was one of the kindest, gentle, caring, Christians that I knew had wondered why God would leave so many that wasn’t and take one of the best. A few weeks later our preacher spoke of the exact subject and cleared my heart as though it was directed just for me. I still miss him dearly, but I know someday we’ll meet again. Thank you for prayers

      August 9, 2012 at 5:14 pm

  3. A beautiful painting and a wonderful dedication.

    August 7, 2012 at 1:39 pm

    • Thank you, i hope for a better future against cancer someday.

      August 9, 2012 at 5:09 pm

  4. Jill

    So lovely. Wishing everyone dealing with the loss of a loved one peace.

    August 7, 2012 at 6:51 pm

    • Thank you Jill, cancer seems to touch so many and takes so many wonderful souls.

      August 9, 2012 at 5:08 pm

  5. This is a beautiful painting. What a spectacular sky and I love how you handled the trees!
    A perfect one for this dedication…

    August 9, 2012 at 3:11 pm

    • Thank you for the kind comment. I’m thinking of making prints or cards from this painting and a few others and donating a percentage towards the families I know that has been touched by cancer.

      August 9, 2012 at 5:07 pm

  6. Your painting portrays exactly what it feels like to walk through fresh snow on a winter’s night, Ryan. Beautiful dedication. I am sorry for your loss.

    August 31, 2012 at 4:40 pm

Leave a Reply

