from a dad's view

God’s gift was given

A Gift was Given

So many people pray, whether whispered, spoken aloud, or maybe a simple quiet thought. I’m not sure if a prayer was answered or just given to me with-out prayer.  We forget as our life passes by, the prayers that have been given with-out being ask for.  It was almost eighty years ago, long before I was born, I was graced by God without being prayed for. You see my Mother-in-law was born in a small (really small town) in southern Indiana. Along with her twin brother and several other sisters and brothers, they grew up knowing a simple life, but a Christian life. That young girl as pretty as her middle name (Rose) would eventually marry a man who I admired and loved, and still do even today after his death twenty-three years ago. God graced me, and so many others by allowing us to know, their love and become a part of their family. I have been with the family for thirty-three years, and married to their beautiful gift from God for twenty-seven years.

We lost my father-in-law twenty-three years ago, and now my mother-in-law last week. I’ll miss them both forever, but I find comfort in knowing that they are once again together. I realize now that a gift was given, and with that gift families were given even more gifts. Gifts from the Lord will always be there, we just have to accept them and love each and every one of them.

Ryan’s Prayer

Thank you Lord

for the Rose that was gifted,

Its beauty and life,

the reason our hearts, will always be lifted.

 

A rose that brought love and sunshine

with her loving delicate touch,

a love that will never be forgotten,

and always be missed, so very much.

 

So bring her into heaven,

and please give her a special place,

place her soul in the heaven’s bouquet,

allowing her and Gene to once again embrace.

 

The beauty in our heaven

has never been so bright,

two souls joined once again,

making a single, loving, brilliant light.

 

Allow their light to shine downward

upon us who keep them near to our heart,

for someday will be together again,

eternally never to part.

 

Lord I ask thee,

for this I pray,

keep them near your heart,

until we’re all together again one day.

 

Amen

5 responses

  1. beautiful. beautiful rose and painting and life. praying for you and your family as you grieve.

    September 5, 2012 at 3:55 pm

  2. Such a beautiful painting, such a lovely story, and a heartfelt prayer. So sorry to hear about the loss of your mother in law.

    September 5, 2012 at 9:03 pm

  3. This is absolutely breathtaking!

    September 8, 2012 at 1:23 pm

  4. What a wonderful remembrance, Ryan. My sympathy to you and your family.

    September 12, 2012 at 8:36 am

  5. Ryan, I am so sorry for your family’s loss. Your tribute is remarkable and will be a powerful reminder of sweet Rose in the future.

    October 2, 2012 at 3:22 pm

Leave a Reply

