from a dad's view

Blowing in the wind

Click on image to enlarge

Sitting in a clover field searching for a four-leaf clover, burning leaves and small insects with a magnifying glass, making new roadways through the grass and roots for the matchbox or hot  wheels, or simply picking a dandelion seeding and waiting on a breeze and gently blowing the seeds into the wind, how sweet was life when this filled your day. Life has been a rush lately, not the rush as in adrenaline but a rush from here to there, do this and that, and an emotional roller coaster. I have been trying to slow it down and spend more time with family and things that I have been wanting to do, but as always, it’s just not working out. This is the time of year in Indiana that makes these days seem worth it. Temperatures are in the 70’s and low 80’s (F), a gentle breeze and flowers are still blooming. So as I’m going to do the next few months, I hope you try to do the same, slow down, take a picnic with someone you care for, and appreciate the things that we have and those loved ones that we have.  Have fun, and blow a dandelion in the air for me… if you have one!

This watercolor is a 5″ x 9″ on watercolor 140lb paper, with a salt technic used for parts of the dandelion and air movement behind it.

16 responses

  1. Love it, Ryan! The painting is beautiful and so is the message. I think I’ll lock the sign shop door for a few minutes and walk over to the gallery for a latte. Thanks for the idea! 🙂

    September 10, 2012 at 7:12 am

    • I hope you enjoyed your moment away and I hope all is well! Thanks for your visit my good buddy.

      September 10, 2012 at 12:31 pm

  2. Magnifique.

    September 10, 2012 at 10:47 am

    • Thank you! That’s a word never used before to describe my art and I appreciate it. It worries me because living with a wife and two daughters, when I get compliments like that from them it usually means they’re wanting something!!! LOL

      September 10, 2012 at 12:29 pm

  3. I’ve enjoyed your blog and have nominated you for the One Lovely Blog Award. Follow link for information http://oilpastelsbymary.com/2012/09/10/a-blogging-award/

    September 10, 2012 at 3:20 pm

  4. This is an absolutely wonderful work! Thank you as well for the memories you brought back about doing things like this when I was little! Thanks so much!

    September 10, 2012 at 4:10 pm

  5. Lovely painting and sentiment, too. Hope you find time for lots of picnics.

    September 10, 2012 at 6:23 pm

  6. I have tried to do dandelion fluffs for the last three years. This puts any attempt of mine to shame. Salt didn’t do that for mine! Beautiful thought and painting, Ryan.

    September 12, 2012 at 8:39 am

  7. This is so lovely… a gentle subject, gentle colors. That is such a difficult painting, and you rendered it so well! Bravo !

    September 12, 2012 at 2:33 pm

  8. Such a sweet painting. It reminds me of when my kids were small – so many years ago. I shows some of the simple pleasures of life.

    September 12, 2012 at 5:26 pm

  9. This painting is really wonderful. I love the way you were able to capture dandelion fluff blowing in the wind. Like you I have been enjoyi8ng this Indiana weather – wet today but that is good and the weekend was spectatcular. I always enjoy your writing. Thank you for taking us on your trip.

    October 2, 2012 at 3:19 pm

  10. Kecia Burcham

    Can this be bought? Has it been reproduced?

    October 29, 2014 at 7:50 am

    • Thank you for visiting my blog. This watercolor painting has been sold, and at this time no reproductions prints have been made.
      I hope that you might find another painting that you would enjoy, but if not now please keep an eye on my two webs for future paintings.
      artbyrhayes.com or asmalltowndad.wordpress.com
      Thank you again and have a great day

      October 29, 2014 at 8:43 am

  11. Tracey Robitshek

    I would like to purchase this piece.

    September 10, 2017 at 7:41 am

    • Hello Tracey,
      Thank you for visiting my blog and interest in the purchase of this piece. We have evacuated from Florida at this time and all my art remains there. As soon as we return (hopefully without damage), I will contact you. My email is hayes4.art@gmail.com if you wish to contact me.
      Thank you again and I will be intouch

      September 10, 2017 at 8:25 am

    • Hello Tracey,
      I am back to my Florida studio and checked inventory and unfortunately this piece has already been sold.
      I will be updating other paintings and sculptures soon on my artbyrhayes.com site. Please visit the site and thank you again for your interest in my art.

      September 15, 2017 at 6:35 am

Leave a Reply

