from a dad's view

Christmas and Lace – Watercolor

Click on image to zoom in

Ryan, painting lace, I know and yes it’s true, of course I wanted to add some camo to it, but fought the urge. This Christmas still life is a 8″ x 11″ watercolor image, framed in a 11″ x 14″ antiqued frame. I know it’s early for Christmas and winter paintings, but I’m actually running late on them for upcoming shows. Prints are yet to come back from the printer and originals still need to be painted. I wanted a lot of lace and white cloth contrasting with the dark background, and most of the color high on the paintings edge. Please leave a comment letting me know what you think or what you would have done different.

Price: Original 8″ x 11″ watercolor, 11″ x 14″ frame     $225.00 plus SH

5 responses

  1. I think it’s spectacular.

    October 18, 2012 at 3:35 pm

  2. Bettina

    Just lovely. I love the high contrast and perspective. Very nice work.

    October 18, 2012 at 6:27 pm

  3. I like the composition and the expanse of delicate white lace. This is a wonderful example of your particular style. I wouldn’t change anything.

    October 20, 2012 at 3:31 am

  4. What a beautiful holiday composition. And that lace, wow! I tried painting lace once. With some success, but no as beautiful as yours.

    October 21, 2012 at 3:07 pm

  5. So beautiful! I love the way you approached the lace. The looseness of the paint is very nice. Good job putting an original twist on a common subject!

    November 13, 2012 at 9:46 am

Leave a Reply

