from a dad's view

Greens in Winter – Watercolor

Click on image to enlarge

Even though I am a warm weathered person, I love the heat, the sun and the oceans, there’s not a lot of things in this world that is more calming and beautiful than a walk through a woods with fresh snow on the ground. It has a refreshing smell of pines and fresh air when you breathe it in, and to see the wildlife flying or running around as though they have a new lease on life. I love the convenience of the city, but the man to earth relationship of the country.  I have always been an explorer at heart and the finding of foot prints, nest, bones, shells, and other wonders of the woods, just make it more exciting to wonder. There used to be a tag line on the Indiana license plates that said “Wonder Indiana”, they must have created that by watching my actions. I can start a walk early in the morning and absolutely get lost in time and explore the woods an entire day. I know I have written about walking before, but a walk on concrete and asphalt isn’t what I was talking about. Sure it’s physically healthy to walk on streets, but the walking through nature, especially a woods or around a lake, is both mentally and physically healthy. This is great time of the year in the midwest to do so, the bugs are almost nonexistent  and it’s cool and refreshing, just make sure that you where bright orange or go to a park to avoid the deer hunters like myself. As you walk take time to look close at the shape of trees, the formation of the stones and landscape, and stop every once in a while and give time to fool the creators in to thinking that you’re not there and listen to them communicate with song and chatter.  I hope you have fun and think of me and this painting while doing so!

Have a great weekend!

10 responses

  1. Deb

    Beautiful!

    November 16, 2012 at 9:27 am

    • Thank you Deb! I’ve missed you all and need to visit more often

      November 16, 2012 at 9:30 am

  2. Not only is this a beautiful painting… and it is stunning!!!!!… but after reading your post, I feel calmer inside. You really have a talent for getting to the heart of things with your writing. I was wandering through the woods with you just now, skipping stones in the lake and smelling the pine needles. Thanks, Ryan! I needed that!

    November 16, 2012 at 10:37 am

    • Thanks Beth, and about your skipping stones… 2 skips, just 2, come on, you can’t start bragging until you can skip at least 4-6 skips! Keep practicing! LOL
      I’ll be glad to take a walk with you someday, or paint. Keep smiling

      November 16, 2012 at 10:45 am

  3. Love this!

    November 16, 2012 at 12:57 pm

  4. Lovely winter scene. I like to handle the cold in (very) small doses. A bit of a problem here in Indiana. I prefer snow viewed from inside the window. LOL

    November 16, 2012 at 5:41 pm

  5. this is so soothing! nice job! z

    November 17, 2012 at 5:10 am

  6. This is really beautiful, Ryan and supports what you wrote about so well. I love our state, too. I like how you handled the verticals and accentuated the height with the format.

    November 25, 2012 at 6:57 am

  7. Oh what a patient person you must be ! This is sooo beautiful!

    November 27, 2012 at 4:22 pm

  8. And I love the tones you chose ! They work very well !

    November 27, 2012 at 4:23 pm

Leave a Reply

