from a dad's view

Wise Whimsical Owl – Watercolor and Ink

ColorfulOwl

Click on image to zoom

More than meets the eye! Just like life, if you zoom in on the eye, you will see that I have line shading with ink. At first you might not notice it, but if you look closer into the painting or at life, there’s more there than originally thought. It’s amazing to me that although 50 years old, I am continually learning daily. Learning from what I have done wrong in the past, what I have done correct, and just flat-out learning things new to my life. I have started giving private art lessons, which is new to me, I am a father of young ladies venturing off into their own life and not just my little girls depending on me, and soon looking at retirement of a job that I have had for 26 years… Life has been and continues to be an adventure. I see things that I want to try, even if I started today doing them all, I’m pretty sure that I would run out of time before completing a lot of them. Where would I even start? Traveling, seeing and doing things in different places, Art, my goodness the creativity that I see now days just makes my head swim with ideas of my own, sports, wood working, archeology digs, repurposing objects into art and furniture, metal detecting, and that’s just a start. Now let’s include hunting, fishing, ocean walks, family, wife, my, daughters and yes, maybe even someday… grandchildren!

A wise old man once said   “Life begins in a moment, and ends even Quicker” Okay an old man did say it, he’s not wise, but the old man knows, because that old man is me!

My advice to young people, never put off things! Whether it’s work, play or family, get up, get out, and just do it, or you will miss out on so much and wished that you had a chance to do it all over someday. I see so much laziness from young and old now days wasting their time watching tv, computers, games, and other items that keeps people from growing. There is a place in this world for all of them, and I do use them daily, but I limit my time on each, and enjoy the outdoors, activities and people so much more than those items. Now get off the computer and find a passion that brings out the creativity, energy, emotion, or the help of others!

7″ x 10″ watercolor with pen and ink eyes and shading

3 responses

  1. Pat

    This is lovely.

    June 20, 2013 at 8:18 am

  2. Wonderful post w/an excellent message. You’ve created a brilliant painting!

    June 21, 2013 at 10:08 am

  3. Have been enjoying your blog gallery, very nice art work, and good stories togo with it. I chose to comment here on the owl eye as an onlooker too.
    As with most new visitors, i will have to come back to see more in-depth as I was just doing housekeeping on my own blog and discovered your site, thanks for the visit here as well.

    August 25, 2013 at 11:23 pm

Leave a Reply

