from a dad's view

Sea Turtle – Watercolor

Destinlittlegirl DestinTurtleClick on Image to zoom in (Both Available to purchase at artbyrhayes.com)

These are two of five painting that I did while on vacation in Destin, Florida. The little girl was adorable in a pink tutu and unfortunately I didn’t see the parents again after I had painted her. So if the parents see this post please contact me.

The Sea Turtle is actually painted with Destin Florida Ocean Water and was inspired by a sea turtle seen while deep sea fishing with my daughters.

What’s more important than these paintings, are the wonderful people and friends that we met while on vacation. You hear of the bad in people now days, but what we forget is how much good is still out there. People from all over the world and the U.S., came up to me and by weeks end, were what I would consider a friend, even if we never see them again. A man and his family from St. louis even invited me out to camp and do some fishing some day. Now considering that he wasn’t happy to be there because he had hopes of visiting Canada instead of the beach, I think by the weeks end (we won’t tell his wife) but he had a good time!

Another, was a young man, I’m guessing around 9 or 10, was watching me from behind while I painted, and being very stealthy and polite about it. I started to talk to him and found out that he loves art, and his mother from Italy confirmed it. His parents were from Italy and War zone Bosnia, which was fascinating, but we talked about his art and how he had been watching me paint. before they left I presented them with an original watercolor that I had painted earlier that day and you would have thought that I just gave him gold. This means so much more than money to me, to see this young man being so kind, polite, and appreciative, it was an easy choice. i hope someday he will become a famous artist, look back and remember that day, and maybe make another young person excited by giving one of his pieces away. he finished off by telling his mother that this was very special and had to be hang in a special spot… better than money any day!

Thank you all that we met on the beach of Destin, Florida, I hope you had as much fun as my family and who knows maybe we will see you again at the beach real soon!

I hope to soon semi-retire to a coastal area, and I hope that I can continue to do what I do as far as painting and the arts, but more than anything, I hope I can inspire young and old to pick up a pencil, brush or clay and become creative.

14 responses

  1. Both of these paintings are so beautiful, Ryan! I love to read your posts, as you always speak from your heart and you have so much to say. I’m sure that boy will remember you and pass his gift on to others one day. đŸ™‚

    July 16, 2013 at 3:18 pm

    • Hi Beth!
      Missed ya, and haven’t had time to post much. I hope all is well in Oklahoma and I’ll be visiting your blog tomorrow to catch up. Thanks as always for the sweet comment.

      July 16, 2013 at 4:13 pm

  2. Both are awesome, the little girl is perfect! Congratulations on two wonderful watercolors.

    July 16, 2013 at 4:10 pm

    • Thank you Mary,
      The little girl was pretty as a peach, but couldn’t get her to stand still long enough to capture her face, but this pose was just as cute. Thanks for the comment.

      July 16, 2013 at 4:15 pm

  3. There are some gorgeous things happening with that orange! What colour did you use on the girl’s shoulder there, and in the shell of the turtle?

    July 16, 2013 at 8:08 pm

  4. Pat

    Your work is beautiful.

    July 17, 2013 at 3:28 pm

  5. Beautiful paintings! Sometime would you mind making a post about the logistics of painting outside? What tools/supplies do you bring? What does your “kit” look like? Thank you!

    July 20, 2013 at 7:28 am

    • I havent heard from you in awhile, but it’s good to know youre still blogging.
      I’ve learn t keep it as simple as possible. A small folding chair with a small zippered pouch built in underneath. Watercolor block of paper, or taped on cardboard, 2 fold up paint palettes ($3.00 hobby lobby) one for earth tones and one for brights, 6 brushes, masking fluid, 2 waterbottles one for me and one to paint with, a cloth or paper towels, sunblock, bug spray, hat. Most will fit into the small pouch of chair except paper, and sometimes a portable easel. I will try to take a photo of it soon and post it. Thanks

      July 21, 2013 at 7:28 pm

  6. I love the sea turtle. My parents spent many years renting a beachfront condo in Destin to escape the Indiana winters so I understand the appeal. They too made many friends when there. Isn’t that really what it is all about – making connections?

    July 21, 2013 at 11:25 am

    • I love the area and hope to soon move that direction. I love Indiana, but we need an ocean!!!! Thanks!

      July 21, 2013 at 7:30 pm

  7. Sharing the art with that little boy? Fantastic, Ryan. I like both of the above paintings. The little girl reminds me of any of my three Granddaughters. The turtle and the brilliant color choices is superb!

    August 14, 2013 at 8:34 pm

    • Thank you Leslie that means a lot coming from you. Thanks

      August 15, 2013 at 9:16 am

  8. Hi , I invite you to visit my blog and say your comments on my painting.thank you.

    September 16, 2013 at 6:34 am

Leave a Reply

