from a dad's view

Life ROCKS! watercolor and Pen and Ink

lonelyshadows
Click on image to zoom
Now I’m not one to stop very often, always moving, working, playing, and as a famous wise man once said “Git-R-Done” kind of guy, but when I stop there’s nothing better than a porch swing or a rocking chair. As I was painting this, although lonely in feeling, you have to wonder how many thoughts are, and were going through his mind while rocking in this chair for years. Front porches are a lost communication tool that needs to be brought back. Kids are missing out on the benefit of getting chewed out for swinging to high on the front porch swing that was meant for a gentle swing (been there done that). To many teenagers have missed out on the gentle swing or glide, outside, while parents are inside (probably peeking out the window) holding hands for the first time, first time kiss, all while swaying in a gentle way, almost seemingly to comfort both young nerves (been there done that). And then there is the wonderful time of holding your baby in your arms while swinging, or the proudest grandparent holding their grand baby remembering back when they held their own on the same swing or rocker (been there done that). Couples finally calling it a day and swinging together as they did when teenagers and discussing future plans, and just relaxing (been there done that). And then as the later years of life set in, to be able to sit in that same swing or rocker that holds so many memories of family, love, and yes even some pain, still brings back a little comfort to life and usually a smile. My Mother-In-Law passed about a year ago and one of the last pictures taken was all the family sitting on the porch swing remembering the wonderful times that we had with both parents, it once again brought the family love and thoughts together in a way that they would love to see. I’m sure there is a mental reason why people and babies have always enjoyed the rocking motion, but I do know that I plan to ROCK my life away and I hope you ROCK ON with me!

6″ x 6″ watercolor with pen and ink sketching

4 responses

  1. Pat

    Lovely evocative post and a beautiful drawing.

    August 27, 2013 at 5:45 pm

  2. I love this ink sketch. He must be thinking some deep thoughts rocking there. Not many even have front porches anymore and if they do, no one sits there. Everyone is now in the back yard, alone.

    My Grandma’s house had a front porch swing and I must admit sometimes we kids swung too high and thumped the siding. She never really yelled at us but it did make quite a bang.

    August 29, 2013 at 8:17 pm

  3. Sitting on my patio at the back of the house is not anywhere as much fun as sitting on the front porch in the last house I lived in. The back yard seems a private and secluded spot where the front porch allowed for “Hellos” and “How ya doin?” Love the picture. I choose to think this man is not lonely. 🙂

    September 2, 2013 at 4:11 pm

  4. Linda Halcomb

    I enjoy your paintings and narratives very much…I think we grew up in much the same way.

    October 4, 2013 at 5:02 am

Leave a Reply

