from a dad's view

Don’t tell, but Santa is on his way – watercolor

SantaShushingfnl
Click on image to zoom

This original watercolor will be matted to fit a 16″ x 20″ frame and will be offered at the French Lick Indiana show November 22-23-24th, and will have a special show price of $75.00.

Christmas has always been a special time for my wife and I, and when we had our two daughters, Christmas became even more special. It was always a tradition for the girls to stay in their rooms on Christmas morning until called into the Living room by myself or my wife for opening presents. My wife an I are early risers so they really didn’t have to wait long, just long enough to set up video camera and last minute Santa builds (wink, wink). We would hear excitement and giggling coming from their rooms in anticipation of what awaits. Once called to the room, they would come down the steps in their flowing (always had to be flowing) flannel night gowns with the Christmas prints, and with the biggest grins and smiles on their faces. These images our forever locked into my memory and thank God for the two best presents ever given to me. To all the young soon to be parents, or new parents that are questioning whether it’s worth the hard work, and headaches raising children… believe me when I say, if you cherish the good moments, raise your kids to be good hard working, caring people, THERE’S NOTHING BETTER IN THE WORLD!!! Love you Jordan and Taylor, and thank you for all the great memories you’ve have given us.

7 responses

  1. Pat

    A great Santa image!

    November 14, 2013 at 9:06 am

  2. I love your Santa. You are right. Christmas with kids is special. We had a family tradition that the youngest opened gifts first while everyone watched and could admire the presents and then it progressed up in age. That way everyone’s gifts were acknowledged and enjoyed by all. It always worked out well (except for the oldsters who sometimes had to wait quite a while LOL). It also made the process last longer and extended the fun.

    November 15, 2013 at 9:20 am

  3. Oh I forgot, where is the show at? Is this your only piece in it or do you have others? Will you be there? So many questions. LOL

    November 15, 2013 at 9:24 am

    • LOL!
      The show is the Art and Craft show at French Lick Indiana, November 22-23-24th. Yes I will be there with this painting and 20-30 others. This painting and several others will be special priced at $75.00 matted. I’m trying to do several that will be affordable originals, for people that normally can’t afford an original can have the opportunity to buy one.

      November 15, 2013 at 9:32 am

      • If I can get down there, I try to stop by. The new dog has kind of messed up my schedule.

        November 15, 2013 at 10:25 am

      • I would love to meet you! I will be there the entire time, so stop by if you get the chance.

        November 15, 2013 at 10:28 am

  4. Linda Halcomb

    I enjoy your Christmas paintings so much. They are quiet and your color palette is subtle rather than bright. They reflect the spirit of the season.

    November 25, 2013 at 4:45 am

Leave a Reply

