from a dad's view

Black Death… that’s Purple

href=”https://asmalltowndad.files.wordpress.com/2014/01/death.jpg”>Death
CapedetailClick on image to zoom
I’ve never had a run in with a beast such as this, but had a close call with a mean HEIFER with an ATTITUDE, which all of us men knows that can be just as deadly! Being surrounded by farms most of my early life, I was used to cattle, horses and other farm animals, and I’m smart enough to avoid bulls in a field, but wasn’t expecting what was about to happen with a heifer. I was fishing with a friend on the banks of a cattle field pond for half hour or so with no problems. While fishing from the bank, I all of sudden had this funny feeling that someone was behind me, now my friend was on the other side so I knew it wasn’t him, so I turned and just feet from me was the “Heifer with the Attitude”. Not thinking anything about it, I just tried to convince her to turn and just walk away… she had other ideas. She stared and begin to close in on me, thinking she just wanted something to eat and thought I was the farmer with hay, I again tried to convince her to turn and walk away… she had other ideas! She then became aggressive, and gave more of a charge motion, now I’m getting closer and closer to the ponds edge, and not sure what’s going through this Heifer with an Attitudes head, but it was making me mad. At this point, it became a full charge at me and I decided to show her whose boss… so I ran into the pond like a scared school girl, after all I swam 4 years in high school, ha, showed her! My friend was cracking up on the other side of the pond, until the Heifer with an ATTITUDE ran on the other side and chance him into the pond as well. Every time one of us would attempt to get out she would run over and chase us back in. Finally being bored with being the HEIFER with an ATTITUDE she walked away allowing us to exit. The moral of this story is, Never mess with a HEIFER with an ATTITUDE or at least be ready to take a swim!

This old beauty has a lot of character with the tattered ears, scars, wrinkles and a huge amount of horn protecting his skull, and usually black in color (reason why they are known for being black death.) But I decided to add a little color to his world and paint him with blues and purples.
An original watercolor matted for a 18″ x 24″ frame. $100.00

2 responses

  1. Pat

    Loved the story and the portrait!

    January 14, 2014 at 5:48 pm

  2. Very funny heifer story. My experience is more with horses and they tend to be better behaved. I really like the use of the purple in his face. It sets of the greys and blacks nicely.

    January 24, 2014 at 10:11 am

Leave a Reply

