from a dad's view

Keeping from going adrift – watercolor

soloboat
click on image to zoom
Well, it’s been awhile and I know some of you are thankful for it! It has been a crazy Spring and beginning of the Summer here in Indiana, and so my art has taken a hit because of it. But I’m hoping to add to my blog more often, and get back into the swing of it. Thanks for checking in from time to time and I hope you have enjoyed it.

This painting is of a solo boat in the middle of a bay, and under an unseen pier. The dark shadows contrasting with the blues and purples caught my eye and so I had to paint it. But there is more to this in my mind than just a painting. You see I’m at the time of my life (old, but not real old) that I’m not sure if I should stay tied to what I know as safe, comfortable, and unchallenging, like you see in the painting, or should I untie that anchoring rope and allow myself to drift into the unknown territory of the NEW. I know that everyone has these moments through out their lives. You know, that first step into school class, getting your drivers license, dating, marriage, having children, and for me changing jobs, becoming a full time artist or possibly retiring soon (but continue my art). It is so comfortable being tied to that post of life, and be very happy in that situation, but then you have to wonder what might be out there for you if you would take that chance and untie the comforting rope and set adrift. Well, I guess you’ll have to check in from time to time to see if the boat has been set a sail to the shores of Florida, or still tied to the comfortable life in Indiana. Either way, I’ll have paint brush in hand, and ready to paint the next moment in life that captures my eye.

Thank you again for visiting, and may your journey in this life be a grand one!

7 responses

  1. There is true value in both, but ah….the mystery around the corner… ~

    June 25, 2014 at 8:57 am

    • Thank you for visiting,
      and you do absolutely exquisite art.

      June 25, 2014 at 9:02 am

  2. Your painting reminds me of a time when I had hours to watch the water lap against the side of the boat and watch the light bounce off of it. Great painting. I look forward to seeing more. The business of everything crowds out concentrated time in the art. Shorter art times have simplified and streamlined my techniques. Thanks for visiting Visual Fling.

    June 25, 2014 at 10:45 am

  3. Well, you captured what you wanted, the water. My eyes were dazzled by it, for sure. Nice painting. Why not? You have always spoken favorably of Florida.You and your family have taken many vacations there. …Uhm, but I know what you mean. I toyed with the idea of change, but family is here and have moved once before and came running back to the midwest. Something about roots and trees and weather and all that goes on with the daily stuff. I think it is called comfort and home.

    July 2, 2014 at 10:11 am

    • Thank you Leslie, and I know you’re right on having roots and comfort of home that we’ve known all my life. With my girls now living in Florida, it might be time to try something new. I might end up back in Indiana, but won’t know until we try.
      I’m loving your web and the lesson pages!

      July 2, 2014 at 10:25 am

      • I guess I missed you saying your girls now lived in Florida….. No brainer… half of home is already there!

        July 2, 2014 at 2:58 pm

  4. The water is beautiful. I can see the attraction to move to another place if that is where family is now. We have a daughter here, but our son and Daughter-in-law are in Nashville, TN. After this last winter, TN is looking more pleasant, but for now my mom has moved closer and my sister is right here too. Time will tell.

    July 4, 2014 at 12:15 pm

Leave a Reply

