from a dad's view

Waving at the ocean

imageClick on image to enlarge

Went to the ocean this late afternoon and decided to get the watercolors out and paint something, and decided to do the beautiful waves. The ocean wasn’t actually the story this night. You see my wife and I dropped off my daughter early one morning and then we went to Clearwater beach. The sad thing is, we beat the beach sweepers there and what a mess. Trash everywhere! Trash can located every 20-30 yards and yet people were to lazy to pick up their own trash and deposit it in the cans on their paths out. Sad. But that’s not the story, the story is tonight while at the beach this man was picking up other people’s trash. I decided that this is the person that I would be honored to give my painting to. As he disappeared behind the dunes, I began to remove the painting from the block and signed it to give it to him. But he never came out from behind and I soon realized that he lived in this beautiful and as my wife had just said her favorite home along the area. Thinking that I missed the opportunity to give it to him, I noticed him through the window and motioned for him to see if he would take the painting. He came out and was absolutely polite and nice and accepted my painting. This man did not have to clean the beach, and yet he has pride enough in this beautiful part of our country to do so. So to him, I thank you, and to others like him, I thank you, and for those that have the strength to carry your stuff down to the beach, please don’t be to lazy to carry it back up with you. We need more pride, and respect for this beautiful country.

the watercolor was painted with the ocean waters in the area. And on 140lb cold press paper.

6 responses

  1. Pat

    What a nice story behind this lovely painting.

    August 5, 2014 at 8:58 am

  2. Amen! It breaks my heart to see the park staff picking up trash at my beautiful Ft Ben State Park every Monday morning…lovely painting. I like the green lights in the waves. Very realistic.

    August 9, 2014 at 4:41 am

    • Thank you Linda,
      I expect a younger person to not have respect for property, but to see lazy adults and especially my age (51), to trash the place
      is just inexcusable.

      August 12, 2014 at 10:35 am

  3. Very nice picture and story. I don’t think I could do water if my life depended on it. LOL Have you decided to move?

    August 12, 2014 at 10:14 am

    • Thank you Ruth,
      Definitely will be moving, but it depends on jobs, or wait a few years more and semi-retire.

      August 12, 2014 at 10:34 am

  4. Gorgeous painting and story. Shame about the visitors. But, I love how the painting was done with water from the ocean. It was a lovely tie-in as a gift for the man that lives there.

    August 29, 2014 at 10:52 am

Leave a Reply

