from a dad's view

Sunflower – watercolor

sunflower
Click on image to zoom
Have you ever had one of those days, weeks, months, to which you feel like this sunflower looks? Since I’ve hit the 50 mark… a few years ago, this represents me big time. I don’t mind the wrinkles, the wilting of the hair, or the drooping of muscles… what little I had, but no energy! That sucks! I try to stay busy when I get home from work and that helps, but it takes a lot more effort to maintain verticality. Forget the six pack abs, guns for arms, and the ability to run with-out passing out, just give me a BIG-O-BUCKET of energy, and I would be loving it!

Here are a 10 signs that your flower is wilting!
1. When you go out to get the Sunday paper… and realize it’s Monday!
2. When you use the excuse that the recliner is more comfortable than your bed… but it’s really because you don’t have the energy to get up and go to bed.
3. (Mostly old men) when you notice that your pant zipper is very seldom zipped up now days… to much energy wasted zipping them, and faster access when you’ve layed in the recliner so long that you almost pee yourself!
4. When you fall asleep… before your wife!
5. When your triceps wave more than your hand… when waving!
6. When you try to z-z-z-z-z-z-z-z-z-z, oops! Fall asleep while blogging!
7. When your wife is frisky… and you claim to have a headache!
8. When you stop at 8 in a top ten reason list… because you just don’t have the energy to make 10!

You all can fill in the rest… I’m going to take a nap!

16″ x 20″ watercolor on 140lb coldpress paper

6 responses

  1. There’s still beauty in a wilted flower.

    August 18, 2014 at 9:55 pm

  2. You made me laugh out loud with this one. Just think of how many birds that sunflower will feed even if it is bending down. Older and slower is the way it goes, but we can still enjoy the journey.

    August 21, 2014 at 12:33 pm

    • Thank you Ruth,
      Actually I stay very active and can do most things that I always could do… just takes a lot more time to recover from it. LOL

      November 5, 2014 at 9:35 am

  3. Absolutely beautiful and your list..what a hoot! Loved it. But seriously, this is a beautiful painting.

    November 5, 2014 at 8:48 am

    • Thank you Linda,
      I hope is all going well. I don’t make it on the blog tour very much anymore but hoping to get back into it during the winter. I have a lot of shows coming up including French Lick and Ferdinand. Love to see anyone that can make it. Hopefully in January I’ll have a private show and you’ll be on the invite list. Thanks again

      November 5, 2014 at 9:33 am

Leave a Reply

