from a dad's view

Acrylics vs Watercolor

AcrylicWatercolor

Click on image to zoom

The painting of the unfinished wolf is completely painted with watercolors and the poppies are all acrylics. The problem that I’m having is that I love watercolors, but in the area that I hope to move to soon (Florida), the outdoor shows can play havoc on watercolors and can ruin them easily. So I’m playing around with the acrylics used as watercolors to keep this from happening, but not sure I like the results. If anyone out there has any suggestions on how to protect watercolors from humidity and framing, or on the acrylics used as watercolors, please feel free to comment. Thank you all and I hope to see you at the shows if I’m in your area someday!

8 responses

  1. Absolutely… handsome!!!

    January 22, 2015 at 10:32 am

  2. Fascinating! Although I wouldn’t know how, I wish you the best of luck–your work is incredible!

    January 22, 2015 at 10:36 am

  3. I live in FL and have not had any issues with watercolors. However mine are always indoors and in air conditioning . I have painted outdoors with watercolors, but once completed they are kept under air. What problems are you concerned about?

    June 5, 2015 at 7:08 pm

    • I’m not sure how fast or if my art will be in galleries, so I will be doing some outdoor shows with framed watercolors that will sweat in heat. If I make it into galleries the concerns aren’t as bad. Thank you for your comment and help and hope to see you visit again.

      June 5, 2015 at 8:54 pm

      • I know in the winter most of the outdoor shows are held. There are lots of watercolor artists in these shows who travel all winter here. I have never heard them speak of any problems. Maybe if you would be showing in the hotter months outdoors there would be a problem, otherwise I think you would be safe. I hope you do get out there and do well!

        June 6, 2015 at 8:31 am

      • Thank you so much for the information and help. I’m excited about the next step in life for my wife and I and hopefully in the Clearwater-Naple

        June 6, 2015 at 9:18 am

Leave a Reply

