from a dad's view

Memories of a friend – Watercolor

fencepost

It’s only goodbye for now, because someday we’ll meet again.

Crossing over fences, and you without the pain.

From kindergarten on, a friend you were to me.

Spending most of the days hours together, no better friend you could be.

Riding bikes, playing sports, and our BB guns in hand.

All the summer days, until you were burnt red, and I was browned tan.

You were like a brother, and I hope that you felt the same.

From strangers in kindergarten, to brothers we became.

Grade School, Middle School, and High School goes by.

Time as friends is less, and I’m not sure why.

Although life’s path took us, in very different ways.

Memories of those fences and fields, in my mind will always stay.

Thank you John, for the friendship that you gave.

Until we meet again my friend, all our memories as friends, I will lways save.

Rest In Peace my friend.

7 responses

  1. Arts & Rhymes

    A lovely painting and words! I’m sorry about your friend…

    June 14, 2015 at 10:30 pm

  2. Vicki Turner

    What a beautiful, heartfelt memory.

    June 15, 2015 at 8:01 am

  3. Pat

    Such a lovely tribute to your friend.

    June 15, 2015 at 9:47 pm

  4. Good to hear from you Jeff. It was John O. from our class. He’s been battling diabetes for awhile now and sadly passed from cordiac arrest.

    June 15, 2015 at 10:18 pm

  5. I’m sorry for the loss of your friend. tis is a lovely tribute.

    June 17, 2015 at 9:18 pm

  6. Sandy Pendergast

    I love the memories. I can see you and him as boys running along the fence, laughing and climbing over. Love the painting.

    July 8, 2016 at 8:21 am

    • I loved the outdoors and still do. It’s hard to keep me indoors no matter what the weather is.
      Thanks

      July 8, 2016 at 8:46 am

Leave a Reply

